cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installing Google Wifi - solution

pmwsx

Installing Google Wifi - solution

I am a new Plusnet Fibre customer. I have spent two days of testing, long discussions with Google wifi support (very helpful), brief discussions with Plusnet technical support (they do not support third party equipment) and online research including this forum and I ended up with an elegant solution which I wish to pass on. I am not an expert so I cannot give any advice outside my own experience and I assume that you will follow, as appropriate, suppliers' installation advice.

I had been using Google WifI (mesh) successfully with TalkTalk's router but Google Wifi did not work with the supplied Plusnet Hub One router - there was no internet connection. As a Google Wifi device can function as a router I bought a DSL modem (Netgear DM200) and configured the router to connect to Plusnet using Netgear's  wizard. The Broadband Username is given in my "Welcome to Plusnet" letter (username@plusdsl.net) and the Broadband password is the same as your Plusnet Account password. I connected a PC directly to the modem to do this, although you can use the Google wifi device as part of the wifi setup. (Hint: reboot your PC otherwise it will try to find the previous network).

Once the modem is functioning disconnect the computer and connect the first Google wifi device directly to the router using an ethernet cable (do not use a network switch) and then use the Google wifi app to setup the device (and then any other Google wifi devices you have). If you have wired devices you wish to connect to your LAN (and the internet) then use the port provided on a Google wifi device. I have more than one wired device so I used an network switch.