cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

mbray13
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

Hello gentlemen.
I'm looking for some aid in enabling my Sagem 2704n to act as an extender for BT's Openzone network while I wait a few more weeks to get my line installed. I'm given to understand I need different firmware in order to enable wifi client mode.
Any suggestions of firmware that will allow this on a 2704n? I've not been able to find any compatible with this router.
Any tips would be much appreciated.
Matt
53 REPLIES
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 270n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

Hello Matt, just to carry on from the other thread...  (About using the different Openwrt firmware)
If you visit the Openwrt page http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/plusnet/fast2704nv1#easy_option. ; Scroll down to the sub-heading 'Easy Option' download the second firmware - the one with the luci web interface.
This firmware can be uploaded via the http://192.168.1.254/upload.html page.
When it reboots, the primary IP address to connect to will be http://192.168.1.1/ , with no password.
This should be the first 'generic' step, which I hope goes OK.
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 270n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

On the web interface (after you logged on).  Goto NETWORK > WIFI. and click SCAN. So you should have a list of networks in the area. Click on JOIN NETWORK on the BT one.
The next page is dealers choice...  But I recommend you have the red WAN-interface option selected.  To prevent local hacking attempts.
So now, any ethernet device which is connected to the router, should get an IP address.
I also suggest going though some of the options and turning off IPv6, because I believe its not needed and its a bit of a waist.  E.G.
NETWORK > INTERFACE > (WWAN and LAN) > EDIT.       Advanced Settings > untick Use builtin IPv6-management.
After you change some options remember to click Save & Apply at the bottom of the page.
It sounds straightforward, but there is going to be an issue somewhere.   (There always is)

EDIT: additional
It would be best to disable 'ping' so it would detract a few unwanted guests Smiley
NETWORK > FIREWALL > TRAFFIC RULES.
Near the top of the page.  Delete "Allow Ping" > Apply & Save.  But you will need to reboot the router for it to take affect.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Sagem 270n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

Psst.. I'm following with interest Wink
btw mbray13, if you are quick enough, you can edit the title to put the 4 in, by editing(modifying) your first post Smiley
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 270n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

To revert back to the normal factory firmware is a bit of a pain..... (not the new firmware on some of the routers)
run "TELNET 192.168.1.1", if you dont have telnet enabled, go into Control Panel > Programs and Features > Turn Windows features on or off > select Telnet Client > OK.
If you have set a new password, you will probably find that telnet does not work anymore.  So you will have to SSH to the router instead.  I think PUTTY is a good program for that.
On the command prompt, type the following:
cd /tmp
wget http://techy.16mb.com/uploads/original-plusnet-bcm-image-72731.bin
cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size  erasesize  name
mtd0: 00010000 00010000 "CFE"
mtd1: 0013f758 00010000 "kernel"
mtd2: 006a07a8 00010000 "rootfs"
mtd3: 004a0000 00010000 "rootfs_data"
mtd4: 00010000 00010000 "nvram"
mtd5: 007e0000 00010000 "linux"          <<< Check its the same
sync
dd if=./original-plusnet-bcm-image-72731.bin of=/dev/mtdblock5 bs=65536

After a minute, when the command prompt comes back.  physically power off the router and back on again.
This will be back to the factory firmware, but it will not restore your unique passwords.  So the login password will be 'admin'
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 270n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

oh ooops, you have a Apple MAC not Windows.  afaik a MAC has telnet & ssh ready to run.
mbray13
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

OK.
OpenWRT firmware installed.
IPv6 disabled. Ping deleted. Router rebooted.
2704n is getting suitable info for Openzone WAN:
Type: dhcp
Address: 10.145.99.170
Netmask: 255.255.255.248
Gateway: 10.145.99.169
DNS 1: 192.168.22.22
DNS 2: 192.168.22.23
However ethernet-attached devices are still not having any luck bringing up bt openzone launch page (https://www.btopenzone.com:8443/).
Ethernet devices in this mode are served ip within 2704n range not BT range correct (LAN/WAN)?
Thanks for the help so far. What info would help diagnose whatever's holding it up?
Cheers
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

So far, so good.  Its talking to the BT openzone...
The ethernet IP address will be in the 192.168.1.x range, because its firewalled.  And the router it converting the IP to the 10.145.x.x address.
Hmmm, I wonder if BTopenzone is doing it on purpose?.
When I tested it, it worked when I wirelessly connected to another router.  I'll put my router in the atic to see if I can pickup a BTopenzone near by.
As the years have gone by... there is soo much wireless noise in my area, I might not be able to get BT again.
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

Unfortunately I can not connect to BT from my house.
I just looked again at the openzone IP address.  And it seems a little odd.  Because I would not expect the subnet mask to be that small  - thats only 5 devices can connect?
I'm probably just being paranoid, but I wonder if your getting your dhcp from somewhere else?
Oh well,  would you mind going to the Diagnostics page and try to ping "8.8.8.8" and "www.google.co.uk" and the DNS server "192.168.22.22" and "www.btopenzone.com" and its ip address equivalent "217.39.0.79"

EDIT: oh, the IP address might change after a sucessfull logon
mbray13
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

Thanks for the ip clarification.
I've pinged all addresses with same results:
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.Cool: 56 data bytes
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss
(except www.btopenzone.com which was bad address)
Double checked i'd followed all previous steps, no mis-steps found.
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

hmmm, I'm a bit lost....  I was expecting the DNS server to respond.  I'll have to think about this.
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

Just a sidenote:
I can connect to a "BTWiFi-with-FON" and it takes me to:
https://www.btopenzone.com:8443/blaablaablaa
So I wonder if its just a bad wireless connection - are you able to connect to another open network in the area?
mbray13
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

No other open networks available.
However, I set up my phone's personal hotspot and can connect just fine.
Does this mean I need to more cleverly position my router for a stronger signal to BT or do you think there's a gremlin somewhere in the router admin setup?
Thanks for your time again Matty. Above and beyond the call of duty!
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

I think your configuration is fine.  because its getting the IP address info OK.
But I do "think" its the position of the router.
oh, by the way, I have just realized a few things...
You have also been connecting to "BTWiFi-with-FON", because I have gotten the same small subnet and DNS servers too.  So it sounds like we have been connecting to other peoples routers, that are near by.
The PING thing I suggested will not work, thats my mistake!!.  But the Diagnostic option "nslookup" will return something.  I've tried a few addresses in that box and it returns some information.
So I guess.... if you can reposition your router and try "nslookup" with a random web address.
Matty123123
Grafter
Posts: 96
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-04-2015

Re: Sagem 2704n as WiFi Extender for BT Openzone

I have connected to about 4  "BTWiFi-with-FON"  hotspots where the signal is around 40% and its fine.
If I try to connect to 2 others which are between 20% - 30% the connection gets iffy.  It's giving me an IP address, but I have to keep refreshing the web page until it finally connects.