cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems using Bitdefender VPN on my Plusnet TG582n router

achookang
Dabbler

Problems using Bitdefender VPN on my Plusnet TG582n router

Hi, I have recently started using Bitdefender Total Security on my Win 10 laptop and it includes a VPN. I can't get it to work as it always give a connection error. Following the troubleshooting advice from bitdefender (https://www.bitdefender.com/consumer/support/answer/11311/) I found it works fine if I use a different connection (eg the hotspot generated from my phone) so I deduce it is something to do with either my Plusnet router or some settings in my plusnet account. If anyone can offer advice I would be grateful. I am a novice at networking so please explain in simple terms. Many thanks.

8 REPLIES 8
bill888
Champion
Fixes: 38

Re: Problems using Bitdefender VPN on my Plusnet TG582n router

fwiw, check whether Plusnet broadband firewall is enabled.

https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/about-plusnets-broadband-firewall/ 

As the TG582n is from a time when man invented the wheel 😀 , have you considered replacing it with a newer model if router problem is suspected?   There hasn't been any firmware update for the TG582n for over 6+ years.

Plusnet can supply a new router, but they will want you to commit to a new 18+ month contract.  Alternatively, there are plenty of new/used BT and Plusnet routers on eBay for as little as a tenner delivered.  (eg. Plusnet Hub One, or later BT Smart Hub) You just need to put your plusnet username & password into the new router to get it to work on Plusnet.

Do you have upto 20mb normal broadband, or superfast upto 40mb or 80mb fibre broadband ?

ex-Plusnet (ADSL, FTTC) 2008-2023. now BT (FTTP) 2023-
dvorak
Fixes: 1,483

Also check you safeguard turned off.
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
achookang
Dabbler