cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lightening Strike blew my router power supply - tech support unhelpful.

FIXED
Boz41

Lightening Strike blew my router power supply - tech support unhelpful.

After a lightening storm my router light went out and my answerphone went off,  I am an electrical engineer and soon determined the problem was the transformers on both had blown.  They were plugged into the same wall socket during the storm.

I dug out my old router, and the power supplies were a match, although the end connectors were different.  I chopped the wires and got it working again.  Wanting to  permanently fix this temporary repair I contacted the help line, and after listening to the operators have a friendly chat for 2 minutes, was finally acknowledge as being on the line.  I explained my issue.  The operator was un-interested, said we don’t do power supplies.  

I have now ordered another one from eBay, I think an open reach engineer is selling them, all the photos have the same laminate floor back ground.

On reflection this is poor customer service, if I have been a little old lady (like my mum) and the light on the router went out, there should be a competent person on hand to send out a new power supply,    Fortunately I know how to match the power supplies, but other people like my mum would not.

11 REPLIES 11
Baldrick1
Fixes: 415

Re: Lightening Strike blew my router power supply - tech support unhelpful.

I fear that the little old lady would be told she needed a new router. Let's face it there could be damage to the electronics that will reduce ithe Hub's working life so the cost of diagnosing which bit has failed and keeping spare PSUs just isn't  worth it.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Alex
Community Veteran
Fixes: 13