cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Increasing wifi range

cody
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎15-10-2012

Increasing wifi range

I have just moved to Plusnet from BT and now have my new PN router installed.  As with BT (Home Hub 3) I have a dead area in one end of the house - its the furthest from the router and in an extension, so there is a double skin brick  wall in the way.
I am wondering if there is some way I can configure the HomeHub3 to extend the range?
If not, what is the best solution?
Many thanks!
5 REPLIES
lorisarvendu
Grafter
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎26-08-2007

Re: Increasing wifi range

I'm in exactly the same situation.  The router is in the extension on the other side of a double-skin formerly external wall.  
Since my PCs were also some way away from the router (and they don't have wireless cards) I opted for Homeplugs.  In particular I now use a Wireless Extender which sits inside the living room, while the router is plugged into another Homeplug.  This effectively gives me a 200Mbps (max) network connection through the double-skin wall, and the wireless extender then gives a nice fat wi-fi signal all through the house (since it's now on the right side of the wall).
I have now disabled the wi-fi on the router, and all wi-fi devices connect to the Homeplug.  It just provides a wireless access point, and uses the router's DHCP server to supply IP addresses. It's lock-downable via MAC addresses, and has it's own configuration web page.
There are other makes and manufacturers, but this is the one I use and gives you a good idea of price:
http://www.solwise.co.uk/net-powerline-av-pew-n.htm
-Dave
PS Alternately if you don't want to shell out money you could try altering the channel your wif-fi broadcasts on .  Software like InSSIDer can tell you what channels are saturated and what channels are free in your area:
http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/
A tortoise? What's that?
You know what a turtle is? Same thing.
cody
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎15-10-2012

Re: Increasing wifi range

Thanks Dave. I will check out Homeplugs.  I had been hoping I could frig my Homehub to act as a repeater (if that is the correct terminology..), but if not the Homeplug solution sounds ideal.
taras
Grafter
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎22-08-2008

Re: Increasing wifi range

Theres nothing stopping you from keeping the ssids the same and having multiple wireless points in the house Smiley..
cody
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎15-10-2012

Re: Increasing wifi range

So could I use my oldrouter (HH3) as the second wireless point, and how do I configure it?
Thx!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: Increasing wifi range

You can do it with a HH2 so the procedure might be the same
See http://www.filesaveas.com/jarviser/repeaterhubsimple.html