cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A gander at my connection, please.

Luzern
All Star
Posts: 3,519
Thanks: 381
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

The title of a thread form a newish contributor is, "Anyone regret moving to Plusnet ?". I have to say that after many years of satisfaction, the continued banding of my connection is making me say, "Silly person! Do you need to ask"?

For goodness, sake! Can nothing be done to force removal?

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 13,053
Thanks: 4,347
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,173
Thanks: 3,210
Fixes: 515
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

Sorry about this. I've removed the banding now.

You should see your router re-sync shortly. Let us know how your speed looks afterwards

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Luzern
All Star
Posts: 3,519
Thanks: 381
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

Thank you! Resync about 1.25 hrs ago. dpwn speed 7578 kbps. ES in telnet 43; now at 1:55 ES 48. 

What's that telling me?

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 13,053
Thanks: 4,347
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

In isolation, not a lot!  Please post the full set of router xdsl stats.

Luzern
All Star
Posts: 3,519
Thanks: 381
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

@Townman Sorry about delay, but last evening I could not upload, and BT tester was showing error 2032 and weird figs. Anyway FWIW yesterdays post banding data is attached. Hope it's what you want.

Router, because of above, was off overnight, and this morning I reorganised the tangle of cables, and am using the cat 5e twisted pair DSL recommended earlier. I shall upload today's data in 2 /3 hours.

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,173
Thanks: 3,210
Fixes: 515
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

Here's a copy of your stats from our tests if it helps:

Profile Info: WBC 160K - 24M Medium delay (INP 1) 6dB Downstream, UC Low delay (INP 0) 6dB Upstream (ADSL2+)
Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 25.3 47.5
SNR Margin: 6.0 6.1
Errored Seconds: 12 0
HEC Errors: 57  
Cell Count: 402270 775602
Speed: 912 7611
 
Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 6240 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 4992
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 58449 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 812
Indicative Line Quality: G Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 58449

 

Copper Test Details
  A to E B to E
Capacitance: 295 NanoFarad 298 NanoFarad
DP Line Length Estimate: 2725 Metres DN Line Length Estimate: 2818 Metres
Celerity: 42.3 dB Line Loss:  
Line Stability: Stable
Fault Report Advised: N
Service Level: 2
BRAGOutcome: NA
Faceplate: Not Detected

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 13,053
Thanks: 4,347
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

@Gandalf - Thanks - this is looking fairly good now!

@Luzern,

Router stats look darned good, DS is very good for the line's attenuation and US is about as good as it gets.

BTw speed test is disappointing, though the results look very suspect.  Suggest that you give these a run on and off to see what they report.  Also try the Thinkbroadband speed tester.

As for router stats, please keep this running and post graphs rather than stats from times when the lines look less than clean.  Particularly look out for spikes which take the SNRM down to zero and looks to see if synch was lost at the same time.

I have seen nothing in this journey which yet points to a specific issue which has been eliminated; therefore there is every chance that some event will cause the line to become banded again.  Comprehensive stats might provide some insight to the event which triggers this.

Luzern
All Star
Posts: 3,519
Thanks: 381
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

Thank you @Townman @Gandalf Just out of curiosity, what is the Celerity reading? Dictionary definition "swiftness of movement" doesn't seem to fit. Upstream MTBE is low cf. down. Does up MBTE ever have adverse results for a connection?

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 13,053
Thanks: 4,347
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

It is a measure of line quality and therefore implies speed capability.

Mean Time Between Errors indicates how many errors you are seeing in a given time interval. Consider also that DS is transferring more bits in one interval than does US. At this stage I’d not worry about the figures.
Luzern
All Star
Posts: 3,519
Thanks: 381
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

Not worried just curious. as I said.Grin

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Luzern
All Star
Posts: 3,519
Thanks: 381
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

An odd OT question. Does Routerstats, either version,  work with  any VDSL router, preferably with some ease? The routers listed , unless I'm being blind, don't seem to show anything.

BTW rock steady now. Smiley

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 13,053
Thanks: 4,347
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

I have RSlite working with a ZyXEL  VMG8924-B10A running in VDSL mode ... but RS lite does crash a lot!!

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,299
Thanks: 790
Fixes: 47
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

@Luzern There's a version of Routerstats that works with the Plusnet Hub One.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,228
Thanks: 495
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: A gander at my connection, please.

I think people tend to use DSLstats instead.