Cannot delete emails from Webmail Sent Folder

FIXED
willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 99

Re: Cannot delete emails from Webmail Sent Folder

Hey there @millerv 

Thanks for doing the test for me. Clearly didn't work so you can set it back up as normal now and if @Townman can find the telnet command then fantastic and we can try that. If not, I will get it pushed back to our netops guys. I'll keep an eye on this thread personally.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 411

POP3 wont help, it doesn't access the Sent folder on the server. Its sent folder is a local one.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 162

@MisterW

That is exactly what I THOUGHt but I have no firm experience to base that on. What I was uncertain about is if the sent items is a sub folder of the inbox … might POP3 pick it up?

I have little experience of POP3 client operation … as I’ve always found it a total pain in the butt … especially where the requirement is multi client access.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser

@Townman POP3 stores everything in local storage. When you collect mail it copies any new mail from Inbox, since the last time it was run, to the local INBOX. If its set to delete from server then it will delete mail on the server at the same time. If set to leave on server , it will either delete after n days or when you delete from the local Inbox.

Sent mail is sent ( via the smtp server ) and copied to the local Sent folder.

What I was uncertain about is if the sent items is a sub folder of the inbox … might POP3 pick it up?