cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sandboxes.

nozzer
Hero
Posts: 3,298
Thanks: 738
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Sandboxes.

Can anyone recommend a decent sandbox that runs on W7 64bit please?

7 REPLIES 7
idonno
Champion
Posts: 1,530
Thanks: 527
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎22-10-2015

Re: Sandboxes.

If you mean a virtual machine, I use Oracles VM Virtualbox. Does the biz for me. Easy to use and setup. I'm currently running Mint on it on Windows 8.1 but it comes with lots of flavours.

Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
daveplus
Pro
Posts: 628
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎25-08-2010

Re: Sandboxes.

@nozzer I have used Sandboxie a little and it seems to work well.

nozzer
Hero
Posts: 3,298
Thanks: 738
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Re: Sandboxes.

Thanks folks. I shall have a play! Smiley

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,596
Thanks: 4,318
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Sandboxes.

Some of the paid for Internet Security suites come with a sandbox mode. I use Kaspersky Total Security which has what it calls safe mode. I believe that Eset also has this feature in their product.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

nozzer
Hero
Posts: 3,298
Thanks: 738
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Re: Sandboxes.

@Baldrick1 

I'm using ESET NOD32 but it doesn't have a sandbox incorporated. I think it's a cloud based facility at extra cost.

https://www.eset.com/int/business/dynamic-threat-defense/

idonno
Champion
Posts: 1,530
Thanks: 527
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎22-10-2015

Re: Sandboxes.

@nozzer  Just a heads up really. If when you load up your software and you can't see any 64bit systems, you might need to go into the bios to enable a setting 'virtualisation' (different names on different devices). I had to do it both on the desktop and laptop. Until I did that all I saw was 32bits software.

Ever helpful. Grin Sure, I’d love to help you out. Now which way did you come in?
7up
Community Veteran
Posts: 15,767
Thanks: 1,539
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Sandboxes.

I still use an old version of vmware player. Works wonders for me, works on all host computers with no ms dependencies needed.
I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!