cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Master Socket shift

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 260
Fixes: 33
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Master Socket shift

What about the other end? It's only two wires that you need, and you can test easily with a phone - once you get dial tone the rest should be OK.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,172
Thanks: 480
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Master Socket shift

I think you're using the colours in the new cable incorrectly. You should be using the blue wire with the white/blue wire, they will be colour coded pairs. If you use the orange wire and the blue wire, that's a "split pair", using one wire from each pair, defeating the purpose of using twisted pair cabling.

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Master Socket shift

Thanks @ejs I will give that a try.

 

I didn't know it mattered to which cable was used as long as they are linked up correctly with A/B 

Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 260
Fixes: 33
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Master Socket shift

You would not a get a BT/Openreach engineer not using matching pairs, so if they ever get called out they would know someone else did a re-wire.

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Master Socket shift

Can successfully say speeds returned to normal having white into blue and orange into white/blue.

Will post an update later if keeps its connection or not.

Thanks 😁😁
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Master Socket shift

Back to square one Embarrassed

 

Scratching my head as to why not working - intermittent/low speed. No dial tone. 

I have wired Blue (from line) into Blue (new wiring) which ends up in socket B. And Orange (from line) into White/Blue (new wiring) which goes into socket A.

 

Ticked off

Screen Shot 2018-03-27 at 22.01.00.pngScreen Shot 2018-03-27 at 22.01.09.png

Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,238
Thanks: 1,130
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Master Socket shift

Try a different pair, you could have a break in the wire somewhere (not uncommon, and very annoying to fix without things like tone oscillators and cable test equipment)... Smiley

 

EDIT TO ADD:

Looking at the pictures again, it could be you have the A & B wires reversed, Blue/White should go to Orange wire and White/Blue to the White wire, A being 0v to Earth and B being -50V to Earth, which could screw things up a little...

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Master Socket shift

Went to Maplin's (whilst they still exist) and got new cable (4 core) and pack of 100 crimps.

 

So the white with blue dashes goes to the white wire of the drop down cable? This should then go into socket B?

Then Blue with white dashes goes into Orange wire of drop down cable. Then go into socket A?

 

I'll give that a try.

Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Master Socket shift

Unfortunately new cable hasn't solved things neither has re-crimping.

 

Internet works regardless which way you put your two wires in either A or B but phone line doesn't.

 

Tearing my hair out now Undecided

Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 260
Fixes: 33
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Master Socket shift

Faulty Master Socket? Or using the wrong connection points. Have you got any other socket you could use to prove it? Even an extension socket should be able to get dial tone, although don't expect the phone to ring.

NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Master Socket shift

All sorted - swapped the White Blue for the White Orange and seems to have fixed it. Bizarre.

 

Thanks for your support Smiley

Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
RealAleMadrid
All Star
Posts: 823
Thanks: 325
Fixes: 15
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: Master Socket shift

That is totally wrong, you now have a split pair, I suggest that your connections to the master socket or the gel crimps were not done properly causing the problems you have been experiencing. Using the wrong wire is not the answer.Roll eyes

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,238
Thanks: 1,130
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Master Socket shift

There's a reason I prefer Krone terminals when working on my phoneline stuff, much more reliable connection than the jelly crimps and far easier to re-make if I made a fluff up in the wiring... Smiley