cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WTH!

carolej
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

WTH!

I know we're meant to have a 10 day settling in period, but seriously, trying to download 1 Gb of upgrades for my mac and at last look was 21 hours!  Are you joking!  I've had to log into my friends wifi, 53 mins download there!  I can't get your own site to load the speed is so dire!  10 days of this and you seriously want full price!  Angry
86 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: WTH!

Hi there,
Sorry to hear it's such a bad start. I've set your profile on our side to 3000 so hopefully that'll improve things, but ideally if you could post the stats from your router (in particular the downstream and upstream speeds) and also the results of a BT speed test we'll be able to advise further.
carolej
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

Re: WTH!

I couldn't get the BT speed test page to load.  But you can have a result from thinkbroadband if you wish!
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,084
Thanks: 1,796
Fixes: 146
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: WTH!

As Matt said some stats from your router would be informative.
You can find out how to get them here

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)

carolej
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

Re: WTH!

ok, not quite sure what i'm looking at for the router, but followed the link and got this...
http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/dsl/dt/?be=0&l0=2&l1=0
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,084
Thanks: 1,796
Fixes: 146
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: WTH!

We're looking for something like this...
Quote
Upstream 448
Downstream 8128
SNR Margin(Upstream) 25.0
SNR Margin(Downstream) 5.1
Line Attenuation(Upstream) 19.0
Line Attenuation(Downstream) 25.0

Yours will be different numbers but can be cut and pasted into a reply.

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)

snozboz
Rising Star
Posts: 404
Thanks: 13
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎27-07-2007

Re: WTH!

The address you posted is what you need to follow to find the router stats.  The 192.168.1.254 bit is the address of your router on your own network - not viewable from anywhere else.  If I follow your link, I get my router stats not yours.  Smiley
Here is what I get, by copying and pasting:
Quote
Uptime: 5 days, 17:32:06
Modulation: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 444 / 5,333
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 0.00 / 3.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 29.5 / 48.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.5 / 9.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 123 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1,874,792
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 11,542
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 10,214

I realise that with such slow speeds, using the BT Speedtest will be painfully slow if not impossible, but please do persist in trying and waiting for it as long as it takes.  Remember to ensure you do this when your computer is connected using an ethernet cable to your router (not WiFi), and make sure your computer isn't running anything else and there are no other computers online doing anything else.
HTH  Smiley
carolej
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

Re: WTH!

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 22:31:53
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode: Interleave
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 976 / 352
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 160
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 0.00 / 376.01
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 15.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.5 / 46.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.0 / 26.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 131,074 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 262,182 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 4 / 3,746
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 5
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 5
carolej
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

Re: WTH!

The BT Speedtest wouldn't load, at all.  It just timed out over and over again.  My mac is connected to my friend's router so i can get essential upgrades downloaded, to use the laptop with an ethernet cable means perching on the stairs and as am disabled isn't possible.  Undecided
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: WTH!

Can you reboot the router and then post those stats again please.
The key parts we are looking at are:
Quote from: carolej
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 160
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.5 / 46.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.0 / 26.5

You are currently syncing at 160 which is the reason for the dire speeds. The noise margin and the attenuation say you should be syncing a lot faster. Something has caused interference which made it sync at the very low speed.
Could you describe your setup please. Is your router in the master telephone socket or an extension? What do you have in other sockets (any alarms or panic buttons)? Are they filtered? Are you using any telephone extension leads?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
carolej
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

Re: WTH!

I'll describe my set up then reboot the router for the stats.
The router is plugged into the main socket, my landline is plugged into the micro filter there.  No extensions are beng used.  I have my laptop connected wirelessly, and the mac is...well connected to someone else's router and internet  Embarrassed
That's it, nothing complicated or overly loaded I wouldn't have thought.  Would be nice to get the mac connected too, it can't stay connected to my friend's net forever  Wink
I'll reboot now and see what I can get.
carolej
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

Re: WTH!

rebooted router, here's the info

DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:02:07
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode: Interleave
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,104 / 5,472
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 5,312
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 17.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 22.5 / 46.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 25.0 / 9.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 51
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: WTH!

That looks a lot better. You need to keep the router connected 24x7 with no re-connections and the exchange will lift your speeds when it sees the line is stable. Given the size of the increase it should take much less than the normal 3 days it can take.
If you try a BT speed test now it should run I think - please post the full results (it needs to be the full test not the new beta).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
carolej
Grafter
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-11-2011

Re: WTH!

Yes I can see the difference myself.  I tnd not to turn routers and stuff off, my mac is on 24/7 also, only the laptop gets closed for travelling!
Will do the speedtest, sorry I can't connect it to the ethernet, but is physically impossible for me to stand or crouch near enough to the router to do it  Undecided
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: WTH!

I've set the profile on our side to 4500 to match the sync speed you're getting now, hope that improves things for you Smiley