cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet - New Network

avatastic
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

I've been told that all settings will remain.
My IP block will still be mine, the firewall won't get turned back on, billing date won't change.
The proof is in the eating as they say, so come next week I can answer definitively  Wink
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,315
Thanks: 2,992
Fixes: 186
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Quote from: w23
Will existing static IPs remain the same when transferred to the new network?

Yes.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Anotherone
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

@dave, thanks for the detailed explanation  Smiley
Luzern
Hero
Posts: 4,823
Thanks: 946
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Quote from: dave
... Next on the list is Cardiff next week and Edinburgh at the beginning of April.

From that is it a justified assumption that major population areas are intended to go over first?
No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 15,315
Thanks: 2,992
Fixes: 186
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Not really. Once we hit 20 (ish?) we're done Cool
The scope is wide.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

geoffa
Grafter
Posts: 90
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎08-12-2010

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Quote from: dave

We've asked a few people to help out with testing and as we've run out of areas where we have staff members and I'd like to say thanks to those that said they will, it's really appreciated as it means we can get some feedback before we move thousands of people over.

Very, very useful info Dave - thank you.
I'm on the Birtley (Newcastle-upon-Tyne) exchange and would be happy to help with testing if it would be of any help to you.
elfish
Grafter
Posts: 235
Registered: ‎22-02-2009

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Live in Lancashire connected to Preston BRAS. Happy to test. Smiley
aesmith
Community Veteran
Posts: 568
Thanks: 59
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Quote from: rongtw
PN ?? is this correct , once on the new network you cannot gateway hop  Shocked

Why would you need to?  As I understand it the whole "gateway hopping" thing, which only applies to Plusnet, came about because some of their gateways were getting overloaded.  If their network's up to scratch it should make no difference which one you connect to as the gateway won't be a bottleneck. 
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,541
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Plusnet - New Network

aesmith , WHAT  PN,s network is not overloaded      well at least going by what PN say see several posts .
the main reason for gateway hopping is to get off a BNG gateway which are terrible for gaming for some odd reason 
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
aesmith
Community Veteran
Posts: 568
Thanks: 59
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: Plusnet - New Network

If I read Dave's post correctly those flakey gateways are out of the picture altogether on the new network.
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,659
Thanks: 386
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

@'dave' - when the migration of customers to the "New Network" is complete, who WON'T be on it ?
We already understand that customers on obsolete 20CN connections will be excluded,
are there any other groups (perhaps for technical or geographical reasons), that will miss out on this network upgrade ?
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.5.2 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
HarryB
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,184
Thanks: 1,460
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Quote from: Nibiru
when the migration of customers to the "New Network" is complete, who WON'T be on it ?

Quote from: HarryB
Quote from: jafreer
Will everyone be getting moved over Bob?

Quote from: Bob
Yeah, I believe that's the intention. There's a *lot* of circuits to move though so it will take some time.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,541
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Sorry HarryB,,,, but not good answer just copy and paste  Lips_are_sealed
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,659
Thanks: 386
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Quote from: HarryB
Quote from: jafreer
Will everyone be getting moved over Bob?

Quote from: Bob
Yeah, I believe that's the intention. There's a *lot* of circuits to move though so it will take some time.

That generalized statement was made way before it was admitted that 20CN customers would be not be included, I'm just asking whether there are any other exclusions.
Are you saying that this new BT infrastructure already universally physically exists and will be fully accessible to ALL Plusnet customers (when migrated), on every exchange in the country which isn't limited by being 20CN ?
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.5.2 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
Anotherone
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Whatever Harry's response to the above, just to be clear, those on 20CN did not have access to any bng Gateways.