cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet - New Network

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Plusnet - New Network

http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,147446.msg1297561.html#msg1297561
What is this
Are you starting to use LLU as well as BT
298 REPLIES 298
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

For a while back in 2007 PN trialed LLU lines from Tiscalli but stopped due to issues with the service. Maybe they have ventured into it again as they aim to take on talk talk.
As they are a subsidiary of BT would they want to move off the BT network. I guess we will have to wait and see if your original post gets any replies from support.
https://www.samknows.com/broadband/providers/tiscali

podman
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,440
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Perhaps it's something to do with the "WBMC Datacentre In Building Handover (IBH) at Telehouse North" mentioned in the ISP Forum slides from September.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,820
Thanks: 2,388
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Quote from: Oldjim
Are you starting to use LLU as well as BT

No, it's nothing like that.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Rising Star
Posts: 135
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Can you elaborate on that a bit ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Could someone who's had one of these messages post the output from
tracert ntp.plus.net

please.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Does the new network support IPv6 (and if not, why not)?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,177
Thanks: 1,453
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Plusnet - New Network

As Bob said, nothing to do with LLU.
We’re very excited to say we’re massively increasing our capacity. We’re deploying an expansion in the current broadband network which will give our customers even more opportunity to make the most of the latest technologies and next generation online services.
We are confident that the new network will deliver a better experience in terms of both reliability and performance thanks to the improved architecture.
If you're on the new network, you may see some difference in the traceroutes.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,342
Thanks: 93
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Unfortunately I've never really had any performance issue with my Plusnet service, are you saying it will get even better (or am I just less likely to see any issues in the future than I might have been without these 'improvements')?  Tongue

[/cryptic]
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Quote from: spoon
Does the new network support IPv6 (and if not, why not)?

Plusnet: Any comment on this question?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Grafter
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎02-02-2013

Re: Plusnet - New Network

Dedicated
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 16,677
Thanks: 6,862
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

If it is out there, in use, being deployed why the big secret on what it is?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Plusnet - New Network

In the post linked to by OldJim the OP was advised his line was being "moved" to the new network.  How would a line need moved to a new network if it were still on the BT network.
I hope it's is something that will be available all PN customers I currently am FTTC only with line rental elsewhere.
podman
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,540
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Plusnet - New Network

I wonder if its for the 18month free BB customers they are advertising for now on TV  Roll_eyes
Or is it to relive some of the congestion some see on the massive post , with sort of some PN input  Lips_are_sealed its they way they decide to fix by secretively add new pipes Smiley
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-01-2015

Re: Plusnet - New Network

With this expansion to your network capacity I guess you will be able to remove the 2MB upload cap on Unlimited Fibre now ?  Smiley