cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time Management as a techie

One of the things I often find myself looking at whilst monitoring the platform are problems with our CGI platform caused by insecure or inefficient scripts. Almost once a week I find a page, or whole site that has been compromised. So I've decided to put together a quick list of good things to do and bad things to avoid doing on our platform. Some of these will apply to CGI systems in general, some will be more specific. 1) NEVER trust user input. This is a generic scripting maxim and applies to every sort of scripting and programming. One of the most common ways of exploiting CGI sites is through manipulation of the input that the script expects, for example PHP remote include vulnerabilities. Luckily this is often easy to resolve, but it's easier to bear this in mind right from the start of your development. I'm not a professional PHP developer (I'm a Networks bod here at PN Towers) I've dabbled in it for several years and have picked up some tricks along the way. My first tip is to use integers in your input as much as possible, as they are very easy to verify. For example if you have a bunch of users in a database, and each of them have a user Id as well as a name, use the id when referring to them rather than the name, e.g. # bad profile.php?user=Ben # good profile.php?id=1 In our PHP, we can then use the "intval" function to make sure the value can only be an integer: $userId = intval($_GET['id']); or in Perl: $userId =~ s/[^\d]//g; Perl also offers additional protection with it's "Taint" option. For any CGI perl scripts you should always invoke perl with this enabled, e.g.: #!/usr/bin/perl -T 2) Disable RegisterGlobals This is PHP specific, and on most platforms is disabled by default, however when our CGI platform was bought online we decided to enable it as so many customer scripts relied on it being there. Personally if I had my way it would be disabled for everyo