cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wall mounted router needed

Member
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Registered: a week ago

Wall mounted router needed

I really hope Plusnet produce a wall mounted router so I can go over to Fibre - the one they sent cannot replace the one I have at present from them which is wall mounted and all the wires come out from the bottom. I have had to cancel upgrading just because of this which is a shame - rewiring would be a nightmare.

10 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,746
Thanks: 3,339
Fixes: 541
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Wall mounted router needed

Sorry to hear this.

If you'd like still go ahead with your fibre upgrade you'd be free to purchase your own 3rd party router as long as it's a VDSL modem/router. The settings you'll need to set it up can be found here.

Hope this helps.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Member
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Registered: a week ago

Re: Wall mounted router needed

Thanks for the advise Gandalf but it's an added expense which at the moment I can do without (big dentist bill!). I will stick with what I have and see what the future holds Smiley

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,746
Thanks: 3,339
Fixes: 541
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Wall mounted router needed

Ah fair. No problem.

Fingers crossed our next router is wall-mounted!

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,072
Thanks: 1,075
Fixes: 65
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Wall mounted router needed

@Member the PlusNet Hub one is basically a rebadged BT Home Hub 5. There are wall mount kits available from ebay for the HH5 so they should fit the Hub one fine https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BT-Home-Hub-5-Wall-Bracket-/152400928434

Actually this one https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Plusnet-Wall-Bracket-Plusnet-Wall-Mount-W-Fixings/152659822199?_trkparms=... claims to be for the Hub one but I would guess in reality it's the same as the one above

Member
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Registered: a week ago

Re: Wall mounted router needed

Thanks MisterW - I shall look into it. That's really helpful. I've not been on a community site like this before - look what I've been missing! Like to thank everyone for their help.

Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 7,072
Thanks: 1,075
Fixes: 65
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Wall mounted router needed

No problem. If you happen to have your own 3D printerGrin then you could download a design from here https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1157817

Member
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 2
Registered: a week ago

Re: Wall mounted router needed

Oh now come on - steady on! Grin

IngeJones
Rising Star
Posts: 113
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-01-2014

Re: Wall mounted router needed

As the devices are usually pretty light, perhaps you could put the new one into a net bag or something and hang it from the existing wall fixing?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,776
Thanks: 1,637
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Wall mounted router needed

Another option @Member is to use something like this as it will allow you to remove it with ease.

 

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,540
Thanks: 2,282
Fixes: 385
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Wall mounted router needed


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from Fibre to My Router

 


 

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb

If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

My Broadband Ping - PN-Fibre