Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VPN problem

FIXED
longshanks67
Grafter

VPN problem

I have been using  VPN for a couple of years with no problem but in this last week following an intervention by a Plusnet Tech adjustment to my modem my VPN will not connect. Plusnet then removed this adjustment and put my Hub back to default but all to no avail. After spending hours tinkering with my settings I can only conclude Plusnet are blocking my VPN. I have a new Hub 2months old piggybacked with second router set up with dd-wrt and as I said all worked fine.

Perhaps my accusation that my VPN is being blocked is wrong but I cannot see why it has stop working.

Some advice please

45 REPLIES 45
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 77

Re: VPN problem

I have a new Hub 2months old piggybacked with second router set up with dd-wrt and as I said all worked fine

How is the Hub Two configured as a Modem/Router or just Bridge Mode (modem ony)

Back to back routers will introduce double nat which could be causing your issue

Dan

longshanks67
Grafter

I assume it is bridge mode, but as I said nothing has been touched/changed by me all used to work fine until I contacted Plusnet for an answer on reduced download speed during a Saturday and this drop was about 20 meg. An adjustment was made to my Hub by Pnet and thats when it all went wrong, after many phone calls trying to figure this out. My hub was returned to default but this problem still remains. Although I use my VPN for online banking it is primarily used for streaming with Netflix and other services.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 406

I assume it is bridge mode

Why would you assume that ?

An adjustment was made to my Hub by Pnet

That doesnt sound like its in bridge mode, they wouldnt be able to access it remotely in bridge mode

My hub was returned to default

Now it definitely wont be in bridge mode!