cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use my own router

FIXED
psheraton
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 11-03-2017

Use my own router

Hello

 

So I have bought a TP Link Archer C9  router which obviously doesn't have a modem for VDSL .

I have an old ECI  B-Focus V-2Fub/r Rev B modem.

 

1st question can I use the ECi modem with plus net?

2nd question if i can't do the 1st question can I put my PlusNet Router into modem only mode? It's a PlustNet Hub1One, made by Sagemcom

 

 

Cheers

 

21 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,249
Thanks: 904
Fixes: 104
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Use my own router

welcome to the forums Smiley

1) Yes you should be able to use the ECI modem - I had one.

2) No, there isn't a modem only mode.
Will Moderate For Thanks
psheraton
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 11-03-2017

Re: Use my own router

Hi Dvorak

 

Thanks for quick reply I assume I will have to upgrade the firmware as per: https://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/bt/vg3503j

I am reading somewhere else I might have to solder it ?

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,249
Thanks: 904
Fixes: 104
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Use my own router

Nope, you won't need to do anything to it - unless you want to install OpenWRT?
Will Moderate For Thanks
psheraton
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 11-03-2017

Re: Use my own router

Ok great I will have a go setting it up tomorrow.  I wonder what its default IP address is as I assume I will at least need to enter my plusnet username and password into the modem?

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,249
Thanks: 904
Fixes: 104
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Use my own router

Fix
you don't enter anything into the modem - the user name / password should be entered in your router.
Will Moderate For Thanks
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 585
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Use my own router

@psheraton

the Archer C9 Quickstart PDF is here http://static.tp-link.com/Archer%20C9_V5_Quick%20Installation%20Guide.pdf but the default address is http://192.168.0.1/ if you don't wish to read the small guide Smiley

psheraton
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 11-03-2017

Re: Use my own router

I bought the modem off eBay so hence why I was asking. Smiley

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 585
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Use my own router

@psheraton

I know humour is hard on web forums, the smile was just to indicate that I wasn't serious about you having to read a 2 page PDF just for that address.

I think it is nice that every manufacturer tries to change the default router address just to confuse you. I have the C5 and it was setup within minutes once I had found that stupid address.

psheraton
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 11-03-2017

Re: Use my own router

Hi Mate

 

Thanks for trying to help but you didn't actually help at all. You didn't answer the question I was asking.

If you re-read my post you will see what I was asking. 

psheraton
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 11-03-2017

Re: Use my own router

Hi Mate

 

If I am using my own router and modem how will the username be entered unless someone has entered it? 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,145
Thanks: 139
Fixes: 26
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Use my own router

The modem does not need anything doing to it, but as has already been said you will need to set up your router with the username and password.

If you are unable to do that, you could use the Hub 1, but you will need the ip ranges in one of the routers,  or tweak the dhcp, there are guides on how to do it in the router section.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 585
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Use my own router

From the PDF for the C9

Launch a web browser, and enter http://tplinkwifi.net or http://192.168.0.1 in the address bar. Create a login password and then click Let’s Get Started.

The username format is yourusername@plusdsl.net and that username and password is the one you use to log onto the Plusnet portal at https://www.plus.net/index_nlp.html

The router will probably have a Plusnet configuration built-in in the "Let's get Started" wizard so hopefully you just enter username and password.

You can check your Plusnet connection settings from the icon "Connection Details" at https://www.plus.net/my.html?action=myconnection

psheraton
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: 11-03-2017

Re: Use my own router

I will try tonight if I get time thanks for all the help so far. 

southerner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 503
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 1
Registered: 27-11-2013

Re: Use my own router

I guess if I were doing this the easiest way to me would be to connect the ECI modem to the ADSL/VDSL cable then run a LAN cable between the ECI modem and the WAN port of the Archer router then connecting my network devices via LAN cable or Wirelessly to the Archer router as you would normally.

 

As mentioned above the ECI modem doesn't require any configuration and your PlusNet credentials would be entered into the Archer router somewhere that mentions PPPoE connections.