cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Static IP

natedogg457
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Static IP

Hi im trying to configure my static IP to work with my hard drive which is plugged into my plus net hub one but i cannot find the setting in the router control panel i done a IP search and i found my hard drive is listed as 192.168.1.254 which is the router panel how do i get my router panel to forward to my static ip? 

7 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,811
Thanks: 1,991
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Static IP

Not sure what you're trying to achieve here, the harddrive will always be available at \\192.168.1.254 in windows explorer.

you can map a network drive to that if required.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

natedogg457
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Re: Static IP

i want to make it via the static ip

natedogg457
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Re: Static IP

and i want to make localhost to static ip

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 270
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Static IP

Which router do you have? I assume you have plugged the drive into the USB port, which has limitations. You may be better with a decent NAS connected to an Ethernet port.  

natedogg457
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Re: Static IP

plusnet hub one

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,811
Thanks: 1,991
Fixes: 256
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Static IP

when I asked what you wanted to achieve was it was whether you wanted to access it externally.
you won't be able to do that with the hub one. internally it's always accessible on 192.168.1.254

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

natedogg457
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-04-2016

Re: Static IP

What about a NAS.