cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router Type and Firmware

Archer
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎27-06-2016

Router Type and Firmware

Hopefully someone can give me a couple of pieces of information. Have been with PN for a few years and about to renew subscription. I have a old Hub Zero router and trying to make the best of having been bypassed by the information super highway.

1. What router does PN supply for ADSL connections these days.

2.What is the lastest firmware version for Hub Zero and Hub One.

Would be most grateful for any guidance please.

Archer.

 

5 REPLIES 5
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 24,780
Thanks: 4,479
Fixes: 1,136
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Router Type and Firmware


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from ADSL Broadband to My Router

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,990
Thanks: 2,648
Fixes: 177
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Router Type and Firmware


@Archer wrote:

1. What router does PN supply for ADSL connections these days.


It's still the old Hub Zero I'm afraid


2.What is the lastest firmware version for Hub Zero and Hub One.


Hub Zero: 7.275.11_F2704N_Plusnet

Hub One:  4.7.5.1.83.8.263

Archer
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎27-06-2016

Re: Router Type and Firmware

Thanks for the info.

Do you have any recomendations for a router with a bit more wifi range?

Archer.

 

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,990
Thanks: 2,648
Fixes: 177
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Router Type and Firmware

I would replace your Hub Zero with a BT Smarthub 6. These are really cheap off auction sites such as EBay and are far superior in every respect in terms of WiFi performance. They work on both ADSL and Fibre services, Setting instructions are here: https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-the-BT-Smarthub-6-on-a-Plusnet-Account/m-p/1587673#M85...

Archer
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎27-06-2016

Re: Router Type and Firmware

I found a long forgotten BT HH4 in the loft so gave it a try. Changed the User name and bingo!

Seems to perform better than PN router.

Makes me wonder why PN bother with own routers as all part of BT. I guess they have there reasons.

Thanks for the guidance. Problem solved!