cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Hub One won't turn on/work

FIXED
kkaren
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-03-2018

New Hub One won't turn on/work

So tomorrow was our switch over day to fibre and sadly we are still without any connection. I received confirmation of the switch over vis email however upon trying to connect our new Hub ONE router, we are unable to access the internet. This time the hub won't even turn on/there is no blue light when turned 'on'. I have tried plugging it in numerous times and have made sure all the leads are in the correct places (and that I have pressed the on switch) however nothing has happened...is my router faulty? Please help!

Many thanks
Karen
14 REPLIES
Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,243
Thanks: 538
Fixes: 43
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work


@kkaren wrote:
So tomorrow was our switch over day to fibre and sadly we are still without any connection. 

Did you mean yesterday?

I received confirmation of the switch over vis email however upon trying to connect our new Hub ONE router, we are unable to access the internet. This time the hub won't even turn on/there is no blue light when turned 'on'. 

When you say it won't turn on what do you mean? Are there any lights coming on? If so what colour?

Have you tried a factory reset on the router by pushing a paperclip or similar into the reset hole and keeping the switch closed for at least 20 seconds?

kkaren
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-03-2018

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

My apologies, I meant to say yesterday.

 

When 'turned on' there are no lights whatsoever. I will try the paper clip reset tomorrow and see if it works.

 

Thanks

Karen

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,317
Thanks: 221
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

Hi Karen, 

 

How did you get on with the factory reset?

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
kkaren
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-03-2018

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

No setting factory settings does not work , also tried another microfilter, and plugged in to computer waited longer than 5 minutes still no light on router and no internet
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,453
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

Do you have any other routers you could use? The BT HH5 is the same as the PN one, so just needs the username and password put into it.

kkaren
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-03-2018

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

No good with factory settings reset. Tried another microfilter, used Ethernet cable. Used old router. Nothing works. The system worked slowly but ok until we upgraded to fibre and had new router. What next?
Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,243
Thanks: 538
Fixes: 43
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

If there's no lights on at all then either there's no power getting to the router or the router (or its power supply) is dead. Can you plug another appliance into the socket that's currently powering the router to make sure that the socket has power getting to it?

If that's OK then go back to Plusnet and ask for another router.

kkaren
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-03-2018

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

Thank you. The socket is definitely fine and works with other appliances. How do I go about contacting plusnet for a new router to be sent?
Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,243
Thanks: 538
Fixes: 43
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

If you're lucky this post will be picked up by a Plusnet staffer. Alternatively:

Either ring on 0800 432 0200 and be prepared for a wait or use live chat https://www.plus.net/help/chat/.

Just one afterthought, is the power supply the two part type where you slide the plug pins onto the body? If so is it fully clipped together?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 211
Thanks: 66
Fixes: 13
Registered: 26-03-2018

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

Hi @kkaren 

 

I have just checked your account and can see that your router has been active for about 3 1/2 hrs.  

 

Session Records
Subscription Access Rack Last Event Event Time Message IP Assigned Total Gigabytes Calling From Session Started Session Ended Session Duration
Plusnet FTTC RSN (PTA) active 15:54 30/Mar/2018 unknown (Interim update) 146.199.21X.XXX 1.29    12:35 30/Mar/2018 N/A   3:27:48 (on going)

 

Can I ask (out of curiosity) what you did to get this working in the end? 

 

Kind Regards, 

 

Moderator's note by Adie (Dvorak) obfuscated IP address and other datat

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alisdair C
 Plusnet Help Team
kkaren
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-03-2018

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

Fix

We bought another router which arrived very quickly, from Amazon. The original router supplied  was obviously faulty. Very happy with the result, very quick , a better Easter with Internet . Thank you everyone who gave advice, Happy Easter Karen

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 715
Thanks: 263
Fixes: 11
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

@MasterOfReality   I suggest it is not a good idea to show a user's IP address and phone line BBEU number in a public forum. 

Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,243
Thanks: 538
Fixes: 43
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

I would contact Plusnet and ask for a replacement for the faulty one at no cost to yourself. It's always useful to have a spare.

kkaren
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 15-03-2018

Re: New Hub One won't turn on/work

Really concerned about id fraud. Should all of the numbers be changed?