cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

kmonahan
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-11-2022

Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

Hi all,

I recently received a new Hub Two router.

However, while the instructions refer to a red-tipped ethernet cable, there was none supplied in the box?

Is this normal, or should I have one? 

Many thanks

18 REPLIES 18
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,063
Thanks: 5,718
Fixes: 407
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

Its nothing special , its just a cat5e ethernet cable. Its got red ends just to make the instructions simple for an FTTP connection.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

kmonahan
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-11-2022

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

Oh yeah, I get that they are just basic ethernet cables - but my question is, should I have a red cable in the box?

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,063
Thanks: 5,718
Fixes: 407
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

I'm afraid I don't know, its possible they are only supplied for FTTP connections. Hopefully a staff member will be along with a definitive answer

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,574
Thanks: 1,067
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

Do you have a DSL connection, and if so did you get a DSL cable?

You either get a DSL cable or an ethernet cable depending on the connection type.

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 583
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

Hey there @kmonahan you should have received a red tipped ethernet cable if you went full fibre, however if you are FTTC you won't have done!

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
kmonahan
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-11-2022

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

Hi @willcutforth - it was a fibre upgrade to FTTP.
In the box, I got a yellow tipped ethernet cable, a power lead and the router itself.

No sign of any red ethernet cable despite it being mentioned in the instructions?
MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,928
Thanks: 1,537
Fixes: 480
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

Thanks for confirming @kmonahan 

I suspect there may have been a mix-up with the router at the warehouse itself.

We're not able to send the cables out individually unfortunately but you should be able to obtain one yourself online or from any local electronics store 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 589
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

@MatthewWheeler 

"I suspect there may have been a mix-up with the router at the warehouse itself.

We're not able to send the cables out individually unfortunately but you should be able to obtain one yourself online or from any local electronics store "

 

You forgot to tell @kmonahan where to send the bill for having to buy their own cable.

I assume that as you have said Plusnet should have supplied it, you won't be expecting them to pay for it themselves? 😉

 

 

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,773
Thanks: 5,232
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

As this is an upgrade there is no need to buy a cable, simply use one from the old router. They are the same as the yellow ended cables apart from the colour of the plugs being different.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 589
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

@Baldrick1 

OK, I was just highlighting the fact that @MatthewWheeler had appeared to suggest that @kmonahan rectified Plusnet's error at their own expense.

Too clarify:

AIUI, any equipment supplied by Plusnet is only on loan and must be returned to them when leaving PN?

If that is the case, then the equipment must be Plusnet's property, and is effectively rented from them as part of a broadband package?

Therefore, if any of that equipment, (Hub, power supply, associated cable etc), goes faulty during the broadband contract, then Plusnet are obliged to replace it at their cost, aren't they?

 

I only ask because I'm sure that I have seen reports elsewhere of people not taking up the offer of a free (for the cost of P&P), brand new router at the start of a new broadband contract, (continuing to use their old one), having that go faulty and being told that they must pay the full cost of a replacement. (Might not be Plusnet though).

 

 

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,773
Thanks: 5,232
Fixes: 420
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

AIUI, any equipment supplied by Plusnet is only on loan and must be returned to them when leaving PN?

Unless there has a change that has passed me by, then no. I know BT charges if hubs are not returned.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,738
Thanks: 1,414
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

@Mr_Paul  What's all the fuss about, doesn't everyone have a few spare Ethernet cables  red-tipped or not which is of no consequence. 

I've got dozens of them and can make up many more if necessary. The fact that  Plusnet shipped the wrong router package is hardly a terrible crime.😋

Mr_Paul
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 589
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎07-06-2022

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

@RealAleMadrid 

Oh yes, I have a box full of them - different colours and lengths 😀.

Not everyone does though.

 

I was just extending the point of should the OP have to pay to rectify Plusnet's error with this, to what happens with the rest of the equipment?

For example, if a new customer was sent a Hub without a power supply, or a faulty one, would the "official" response be to "go and buy one yourself, at your cost"?

Obviously not, so why is this different?  😉

 

 

Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,671
Thanks: 1,259
Fixes: 78
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Missing the red-tipped ethernet cable?

Screenshot 2023-05-29 183228.png

Not taking sides but this can be seen on the box my Hub Two came in