cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

Gewitty
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: 14-05-2016

How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

Does anyone know how to change the default DNS settings on the Hub One?

I just installed one of these today, having upgraded my line to fibre. However, I can find no way to change the DNS settings using the Hub Manager utility.

I use OpenDNS as my DNS provider because of the significantly enhanced filtering controls and reporting which this service provides.

56 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 585
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

I'm afraid that the DNS is locked in the Hub One. Sad

Gewitty
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: 14-05-2016

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

That's unacceptable. I'll have to speak to Plusnet and lodge a complaint. How can they block customers using the DNS service of their choice? The OpenDNS service offers protection which I consider essential when children are using computers on my network. Currently, that security has been removed.

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,307
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

Strictly speaking Plusnet don't block customers from using the DNS service of their choice, just their default supplied equipment only works on automatic DNS so sets to the ISP's servers - the same as the BT HomeHub 5 (of which the Plusnet Hub1 is a close copy - same kit, rebranded firmware and casing).  It does seem very restrictive - note the Hub 1 cannot be set to respond to WAN ping either

You can use a router of your own choice as long as it's compatible with the package you're on or you can set DNS on some (possibly most/all) devices directly.

Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 35
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

You can use the DNS service of your choice by manually setting it on your devices.
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Gewitty
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: 14-05-2016

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

That solution will work OK for all the regular fixed equipment in the building, but it isn't really practical for visitors, especially kids with numerous phones, tablets etc.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,640
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

Have you looked in to using our Safeguard service? https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/safeguard/

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Gewitty
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: 14-05-2016

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

The Safeguard service covers some of what I've been using with the other DNS provider, and will certainly cover me until such time as I can sort out a long-term solution, which seems to mean buying a third-party router.

 

DocDelete
Grafter
Posts: 67
Thanks: 5
Registered: 23-01-2008

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

Stupid question - it seems that the Hub One has locked DNS server addresses. How do I go about changing this to access the Safeguard DNS addresses?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,640
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

You don't need to do anything on the router, if you follow the link I've given previously this will apply Safeguard to your account.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,522
Thanks: 430
Fixes: 35
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

Have a look here

https://portal.plus.net/my-account/safeguard/

safeguard.PNG

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
DocDelete
Grafter
Posts: 67
Thanks: 5
Registered: 23-01-2008

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

Yep, looked at all of that first. Done as instructed. Hub One is still accessing 212.159.13.50 and 212.159.6.9 - not 213.120.234.42. Have switched off/on, waited two hours etc etc etc

It's not a deal breaker but having wandered around the advanced control panel for Hub One I was a bit mollified to see that 'advanced' means different things to different people Wink

DocDelete
Grafter
Posts: 67
Thanks: 5
Registered: 23-01-2008

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

Bump.

Okay, my Hub One, despite waiting days and using several power down/ups, refuses to use the DNS settings for Safeguard. Since there's no way to manually control the DNS settings I guess it's supposed to be done when handshaking with Plusnet on restart - but it's not.

Is this normal? Is Safeguard precluded from people with Plusnet's own supplied hardware?

DocDelete
Grafter
Posts: 67
Thanks: 5
Registered: 23-01-2008

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

OK. Have been onto support.

For anyone interested the solution (untried) is this:

 

Hub One has no manual DNS control.
Handshaking with Plusnet is not changing my DNS settings to the Safeguard ones.
Will at Plusnet says that I have to change the DNS settings for each device that I want to have restricted access.

 

I can do this. Many people won't be able to.

 

Problems -

1. Unless I restrict user permissions on each device the DNS settings can be reverted by a savvy user (child)

2. I cannot change the DNS settings on any visiting devices (other kids not from this house) without a lot of hassle

 

So, in my case (and perhaps many others with Hub One) we have a Plusnet supplied device that cannot effectively use a Plusnet provided service.

I've asked Will to pass on this feedback.

Cheers.

BenSwansea
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-08-2016

Re: How to change the DNS server setting on a Hub One

I wanted to change DNS servers as well to use Pi Hole and increase network speed Sad