cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Smart Hub 2- will both types work on FTTC?

FIXED
Houghty
Hooked

BT Smart Hub 2- will both types work on FTTC?

Hi guys, I am new to Plusnet and had the Fibre broadband for just over a month now. I can see from other threads people have updated to the BT Smart Hub 2, (I’m hopefully under the correct impression this is also known as the Homehub 6??) so I ordered one today off eBay, but upon further looking at the threads discovered to my understanding there are 2 types- one for FTTC which is distinguishable by having 4 Ethernet ports, and one for FTTP which has a WAN as instead of the 4th port. One has just  BT on the front with a circle round, the other is a bit fancier with a multicoloured globe on.

My question is- will both work okay on my FTTC without any faffing about as I’m not an IT aficionado, or should I just be looking at the one with the 4 Ethernet ports on? Unfortunately there were no pictures of the back of the router when I ordered it.

I appreciate there are plenty of threads on this router already and have looked through many pages of comments, but am unable to find a definitive answer so far, although guessing it’s on here somewhere, so thought I would just ask.

Cheers

12 REPLIES 12
Baldrick1
Fixes: 417

Re: BT Smart Hub 2- will both types work on FTTC?

Fix

@Houghty 

You are confused I’m afraid. There are two versions of Smarthub, the original Smarthub (Smarthub 6)and the latest model the Smarthub 2. The one with the fancy front is the Smarthub 2.

Both these models come as FTTC or FTTP models, there are also business versions of both.