cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone

FIXED
tmcwhisky
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-11-2014

Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone

Currently on Plusnet FTTC 40/10 with phone, as we don’t use the landline phone we upgraded to Fibre without phone which is due to start on on 5th April. After the sign up I received SMSs from Plusnet and Openreach. The Openreach  sms seemed to infer a visit from an engineer to test and provide us with the best service. Am I right in thinking that all the work will take place in the exchange and the upgrade will not require a home visit.

10 REPLIES 10
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,253
Thanks: 5,552
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone

Fix

@tmcwhisky If you are switching to a SoGEA service, as you are, there is no engineer vidit to your home required - as you suggest, it is a pure admin/automatic process.

John
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone

@tmcwhisky 

 

It might be worth taking a screenshot of your router's existing sync speeds and SNR margin,  so that you have a reference point for later - to show that your upgrade has made a difference, or use as evidence if nothing changes !

 

It might also be worth taking a screenshot of  BT Broadband Availability Checker  so you can check how your upgraded SoGEA line compares to the predicted VDSL ("Clean" and "Impacted") speeds.

.

tmcwhisky
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-11-2014

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone


@Anonymous wrote:

@tmcwhisky 

 

It might be worth taking a screenshot of your router's existing sync speeds and SNR margin,  so that you have a reference point for later - to show that your upgrade has made a difference, or use as evidence if nothing changes !

 

It might also be worth taking a screenshot of  BT Broadband Availability Checker  so you can check how your upgraded SoGEA line compares to the predicted VDSL ("Clean" and "Impacted") speeds.

.


Screen prints taken - thank you for the suggestion. I don’t envisage any problems - but you never know -  I am 60m from the cabinet and currently have speeds of 50/9 MBps on both Ethernet and WiFi

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone


@tmcwhisky wrote:

I am 60m from the cabinet and currently have speeds of 50/9 MBps on both Ethernet and WiFi

 

Did you mean 40/9 ?, or are you talking about the router's maximum attainable download sync speed ?

 

I'm confused as you previously said -

 


@tmcwhisky wrote:

Currently on Plusnet FTTC 40/10 with phone ...

.

tmcwhisky
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-11-2014

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone


@Anonymous wrote:

@tmcwhisky wrote:

I am 60m from the cabinet and currently have speeds of 50/9 MBps on both Ethernet and WiFi

 

Did you mean 40/9 ?, or are you talking about the router's maximum attainable download sync speed ?

 

I'm confused as you previously said -

 


@tmcwhisky wrote:

Currently on Plusnet FTTC 40/10 with phone ...

.


Yes it is confusing I was getting 50/9Mbps on speed tests but I wasn’t complaining . See attached basic info for BT Smarthub 6A. I took Plusnet up on their offer of the Hub 2 and will be trying it out when it arrives and comparing it with the 6A.

 

 

Router Basic - Status 2.png

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone

Oh, that make more sense.

 

It looks like you are actually provisioned at 55/10,

    see topics from 2016 -

          New 55/10 rollout ,

          Plusnet Botch 38Mbps to 52Mbps Fibre Broadband “Upgrade” 

 

Hopefully being only 60m from your FTTC cabinet, your SoGEA upgrade should give you the full 80/20.

.

tmcwhisky
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-11-2014

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone


@Anonymous wrote:

Oh, that make more sense.

 

It looks like you are actually provisioned at 55/10,

    see topics from 2016 -

          New 55/10 rollout ,

          Plusnet Botch 38Mbps to 52Mbps Fibre Broadband “Upgrade” 

 

Hopefully being only 60m from your FTTC cabinet, your SoGEA upgrade should give you the full 80/20.

.


Thanks @Anonymous

having read these links it reminded me that in 2014 I signed up for the 40/20 package and I was totally unaware that I had been upgraded to the new package. According to the router stats my line can sync at 105Mbps download but I probably will never see that speed.

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,738
Thanks: 1,414
Fixes: 59
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone

@tmcwhisky  You wrote ...." According to the router stats my line can sync at 105Mbps download " That is a theoretical maximum sync speed and you certainly won't see it as Openreach VDSL2 lines have a maximum sync speed of 80Mbps.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone


@tmcwhisky wrote:

... don’t envisage any problems - but you never know

 

Did your upgrade go to plan yesterday ?,

and are you getting the expected full 80/20 speeds ?

.

tmcwhisky
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-11-2014

Re: Upgraded today to FTTC without Phone

Upgrade went well seemed to happen overnight on Friday am. Getting speeds of 74 down and 18 up. Phone disconnected later that day.