cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

intermittent dial tone

spuddyhontas
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-10-2015

intermittent dial tone

Hi, just went to make a call tonight and noticed that instead of a constant dial tone it is intermittent but constant. Wondered if this would be affecting service as everything seems to be working fine. Regards, Sarah
6 REPLIES 6
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,305
Thanks: 1,627
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: intermittent dial tone

Sounds like you have a voice mail.
Windows 10 Firefox 105.0.2 (64-bit)
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 2,580
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: intermittent dial tone

It can mean various things, but the most common is that you have a message waiting.
Try dialling 1571 and see if you have a message.
If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
spuddyhontas
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-10-2015

Re: intermittent dial tone

Thanks for the speedy reply.
Was a new one on me, since I've always had an answer machine built in to my phone and didn't request the 1571 service it didn't occur to me.
Once again, thanks for solving
Sarah
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 2,580
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: intermittent dial tone

I believe it is currently the default on a new provision or migration.
You can ask for it to be removed here - https://portal.plus.net/plustalk/index.php?page=wlr_add_call_features
If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-10-2007

Re: intermittent dial tone

Quote from: Force
I believe it is currently the default on a new provision or migration.

If that's the case then the web site needs updating
"Although Voicemail (1571) is free, you'll need to add it via the Telephone Control Panel before you can use it. "
http://portal.plus.net/support/phone/call_features.shtml
biggles001
Rising Star
Posts: 88
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-10-2015

Re: intermittent dial tone

I found that when I activated call diversion,the dial tone was intermittent,didn't happen when I was Talktalk,but it did when I was with BT many moons ago  Smiley