Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Physical bell ringer no longer working following fibre installation

Veri
Dabbler

Physical bell ringer no longer working following fibre installation

Hello,
We've just had fibre Internet installed with Plusnet home phone and our old physical bell doesn't work since engineer visit. I'm no telecoms expert so I'll give my summary in hope someone can please advise :).
BACKGROUND
We didn't have an NTE5 box - house was wired up in early '80s or thereabouts, but some work was done just outside the building a couple of years ago after some damage to the street pole (could this have been fitting an external NTE?). There is a little hardwired box just inside the bedroom and extensions coming off it: one in bedroom, two downstairs, and a hardwired physical bell ringer in the kitchen. I am not sure where the requisite bell wire capacitor/resistor/surge arrestor were before today - there are no components in that little box afaict - so my guess is outside?
WHAT THE ENGINEER DID
Anyway, the engineer changed the bedroom extension (near enough to where we wanted the VDSL modem) into a master socket, fiddling with that hardwired box to give signal route for downstairs extensions: pair from outside --> hardwired box -- [via first of the bedroom extension's twisted pairs] --> new master socket --> -- [hardwiring via second of the bedroom extension's twisted pairs] --> back to hardwired box --> other extensions. The master socket comprises an Openreach NTE5 Linebox (according to a little instruction booklet he left), in between the two bits of which an "MK3" faceplate has been installed to act as VDSL filter.
THE PROBLEM