cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DIscord Users

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,382
Thanks: 713
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

DIscord Users

Hi all,

@JonoH spotted this thread this morning: https://twitter.com/discordapp/status/1174864360604340224

It seems to be referring to some DNS issues with Discord causing problems with image loading and perhaps getting the installer?

Has anyone spotted this?   Could someone give us some tests?

Thanks!

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
8 REPLIES 8
ChildishGiant
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: a month ago

Re: DIscord Users

I've been having an issue with images in discord for a few days now but now I can't launch the app at all. Happy to run some tests for you

ChildishGiant
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: a month ago

Re: DIscord Users

It seems that it's a DNS issue and since we have a Hub One router, I can't change network-wide DNS settings.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,382
Thanks: 713
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: DIscord Users

@ChildishGiant Thanks.  That's not good 😕  Do you have Safeguard enabled? Or ever had it enabled?

 

@JonoH can you look at this on Monday for me and have a chat with @dave

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
ChildishGiant
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: a month ago

Re: DIscord Users

Safeguard isn't on and I don't think it has been previously. A workaround for now is to set your OS DNS to 1.1.1.1 but this needs doing on each device that's having the issue

VileReynard
Champion
Posts: 11,847
Thanks: 457
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: DIscord Users

1.1.1.1 will give you faster DNS lookups than Plusnet's nameservers, so it is worth leaving it as a permanent change.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,382
Thanks: 713
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: DIscord Users

FYI, we have an incident raised for this: IMT-5053

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,382
Thanks: 713
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: DIscord Users

@ChildishGiant Hi!  We can't replicate this on our test lines.  Are you able to replicate it on demand if you change back to the Plusnet DNS addresses?

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,382
Thanks: 713
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: DIscord Users

Hey all.  We can't replicate this at all, so we're assuming it was a transitory issue.

If anyone else comes across it, or replicates it, reply on here and we'll have another look!

Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager