cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Supposed to be permanently signed in

Highlighted
Luzern
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 4,458
Thanks: 740
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Supposed to be permanently signed in

It isn't working for me, as I have numerous times had to sign in. The box I ticked has become unticked.

Why is this happening, I would like to know, with advice how to solve the nuisance,☹️

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
16 REPLIES 16
VileReynard
Champion
Posts: 11,917
Thanks: 474
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

I think its a cookie thing.

Perhaps you used a different computer - which causes it to be unset on the first computer....

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Luzern
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 4,458
Thanks: 740
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

@VileReynard I've only the one. but as it now seems to be happening on a different site it must be something like that.

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,095
Thanks: 1,320
Fixes: 243
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

If I remember right, this was brought up back when we launched and I think we were told that it's also connected to the IP you're on. So you'd need to log back in if connecting from a different IP despite being on the same device.

 

EDIT: I'm assuming you're referring to the community forums?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,786
Thanks: 3,508
Fixes: 353
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

Moderator's note(s):

Thread moved from Plusnet Feedback to Community Site Feedback.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Luzern
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 4,458
Thanks: 740
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

@HarryB  Unless I am misunderstanding you, that would mean the majority, who don't have a fixed IP address will suffer.

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,462
Thanks: 1,499
Fixes: 94
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

@Luzern 

I think that you only risk picking up a new IP address if the DSL link between the router and BT infrastructure drops for any reason.

You haven't got clear cookies on exit set on your browser or an Internet cleaner?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,095
Thanks: 1,320
Fixes: 243
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in


@Luzern wrote:

@HarryB  Unless I am misunderstanding you, that would mean the majority, who don't have a fixed IP address will suffer.


Just to confirm, are we both referring to the community forums here? As Anoush pointed out to me that theres a member centre tag on your initial post, which I missed when I responded regarding the community forums.

 

If we are both talking about the community forums, this isn't a choice we made, rather what Lithium advised us is by design.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Luzern
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 4,458
Thanks: 740
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in


@Baldrick1 wrote:

@Luzern 

I think that you only risk picking up a new IP address if the DSL link between the router and BT infrastructure drops for any reason.

You haven't got clear cookies on exit set on your browser or an Internet cleaner?


If you mean something like CCleaner, that could be it. Thanks

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Luzern
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 4,458
Thanks: 740
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

@HarryB  TBH I couldn't make out the label choices, and couldn't post without using one, so took a guess.

Sorry, it was the community (this).

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,462
Thanks: 1,499
Fixes: 94
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

@Luzern 

The internet cleaner in Ccleaner would definitely do it.

198kHz
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 3,784
Thanks: 686
Fixes: 15
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in


@HarryB wrote:

If I remember right, this was brought up back when we launched and I think we were told that it's also connected to the IP you're on. So you'd need to log back in if connecting from a different IP despite being on the same device.


Just dropped the DSL and re-connected with a different IP address - still logged in to Community.

To err is human, but to really foul things up requires a forum upgrade.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,095
Thanks: 1,320
Fixes: 243
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in


@HarryB wrote:
If I remember right, this was brought up back when we launched and I think we were told 


@198kHz I've just done a bit of searching through some old posts and it looks like I had in fact, not remembered correctly.

This may have been what I was remembering, which wasn't even an official response from Lithium.

 

Apologies for any confusion I caused with the previous post(s).

 

What @Baldrick1 said regarding cookies sounds more likely to be the correct answer.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 14,706
Thanks: 5,713
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

@HarryB

I do not think it is your posts which are confusing, but the system sure is.

I use the forum from home on both phone and laptop connected over WiFi with keep me signed in set.

The laptop (Edge) NEVER requires logging in even between reboots (no cookie cleaning).

The phone (Safari) requires logging in again at least once each 24 hours and always if I change to mobile data. The latter I can accept could be related to a change in IP address ... but such seems to be refuted by the report I a lost above.

This could be browser specific behaviour ... nothing odd around this product surprises me any more - they seem incapable of delivering anything to a professional standard - especially change control.
Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,462
Thanks: 1,499
Fixes: 94
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Supposed to be permanently signed in

It certainly can be browser specific. Firefox on my PC always resets the 'keep me signed in' flag. That's because it's set to clear all cookies on exit. My Ipad never resets it unless the 'clear cookies and history' function is used, when the flag is reset.

This convinces me that this function is controlled by a cookie. Keep the cookie and all is well, delete it and you have to save the 'keep me signed in' cookie again.