cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gateway Checker Update

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,926
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Thanks, that's been noted.
David
David
hbb98
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-07-2014

Re: Gateway Checker Update

As requested:
  core4-hu0-3-0-0.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (213.121.193.164) 3.054 ms
  acc1-10GigE-0-0-0-2.l-far.21cn-ipp.bt.net (109.159.249.Cool 3.730 ms
  peer2-ae-1.redbus.ukcore.bt.net (195.99.126.97) 3.867 ms
  ae2.pcl-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.7) 2.458 ms
  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.2) 2.697 ms
  link11-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.212) 3.993 ms
Slightly puzzled: my own "mtr" runs to 213.121.193.164 show 84.93.249.209 rather than ...212
KevinA
Rising Star
Posts: 159
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎07-02-2013

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Been like this for last couple of days..
194.72.31.138 (194.72.31.13Cool 7.050 ms
peer6-te0-0-0-13.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net (109.159.254.13Cool 5.092 ms
195.99.126.183 (195.99.126.183) 3.877 ms
link3-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.196) 6.977 ms
also tracert to bbc.co.uk
C:\Windows\System32>tracert bbc.co.uk
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.20]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  RT-AC87U-D108 [192.168.1.1]
  2    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  195.166.130.220
  3    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  link1-central10.pcl-ag07.plus.net [84.93.249.193]
  4    11 ms    10 ms    10 ms  kingston-gw.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.6]
  5    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  6    *        *        *    Request timed out.
  7    13 ms    12 ms    12 ms  ae0.er01.telhc.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.109]
  8    11 ms    11 ms    11 ms  132.185.255.149
  9    10 ms    11 ms    11 ms  fmt-vip71.telhc.bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.20]
Trace complete.
BrightonRock1
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎29-10-2014

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Does providing this sort of information help?
Which gateway
Sorry, the tool failed to identify your gateway; this does not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.
Posting the following information as a reply to the Gateway Checker Update topic in the Community Announcements forum will help us to diagnose the problem.
    core4-hu0-3-0-0.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (213.121.193.164) 4.080 ms
    acc2-10GigE-0-4-0-8.l-far.21cn-ipp.bt.net (109.159.249.130) 5.044 ms
    195.99.126.99 (195.99.126.99) 4.130 ms
    ae2.pcl-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.6) 4.030 ms
    ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.0) 3.996 ms
    link3-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.196) 8.847 ms
Nocturne
Grafter
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Like others I've had problems over the last few days on powering up the router and whilst seemingly being connected to the Internet either not being able to access any Web Sites, or able to connect to some but not others.
Re-booting the Router normally resolved the issue.
I powered up the Router this morning and everything seemed fine.
Earlier today I checked and was connected to Gateway 'pcl-bng0'.
Subsequently I checked again:
Quote
Which gateway
Sorry, the tool failed to identify your gateway; this does not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.
Posting the following information as a reply to the Gateway Checker Update topic in the Community Announcements forum will help us to diagnose the problem.
    core3-te0-0-0-14.faraday.ukcore.bt.net (213.121.193.160) 3.626 ms
    acc2-10GigE-0-4-0-2.l-far.21cn-ipp.bt.net (109.159.249.132) 3.549 ms
    195.99.126.99 (195.99.126.99) 3.487 ms
    ae2.pcl-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.6) 6.154 ms
    ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.0) 5.566 ms
    link3-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.196) 5.405 ms

I have not lost sync although, according to RouterStats, there was a period of 20 seconds or so where no IP Address was noted and thereafter a different IP Address appeared in the log.
I continue to have no problems with the Internet.
All of this may or may not be in any way significant so please ignore if of no consequence.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,926
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Thanks for the reports. Unfortunately the task to update DNS entries to fix these unidentified gateway problems has yet to get to the top of Plusnet's 'to do' list.
Quote from: hbb98
Slightly puzzled: my own "mtr" runs to 213.121.193.164 show 84.93.249.209 rather than ...212

This will be due to '209' being the gateway from you to Plusnet and '212' the reverse direction.  They are expected to be different though each should have the same gateway name.
Quote from: KevinAndrews
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.20]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  RT-AC87U-D108 [192.168.1.1]
  2    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  195.166.130.220
  3    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  link1-central10.pcl-ag07.plus.net [84.93.249.193]
...

This is an outbound trace. Both the hop 2 and hop 3 IPs need their rDNS updating. Hop 2 is a gateway and hop 3 a core router (not a pcl-ag07 gateway as its current name implies).
Quote from: BrightonRock
Does providing this sort of information help?

Yes, though the delay in updating DNS means a lot of duplicate reports are coming in.
Quote from: Nocturne
I have not lost sync although, according to RouterStats, there was a period of 20 seconds or so where no IP Address was noted and thereafter a different IP Address appeared in the log.

That means it's just the connection from the exchange or cabinet to Plusnet that dropped. Your IP address is allocated when that connection is established.
David
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Gateway Checker Update

@Nocturne
As David says, it's the connection from the Cab for Fibre or Exchange to Plusnet that will have dropped - the PPP Internet session. Unless you are on a fixed IP address, you will get a new one when you reconnect and often you will be on a different Gateway. There can be a variety of reasons for a PPP session dropping, if it was during the night it would most likely have been down to BT or Plusnet maintenance, at other times faults do sometimes arise. Always best to keep an eye on Service Status reports like this. If you appear to be "connected" but aren't - always best to try logging into the (Modem/)Router and going to the Internet box and click 'Disconnect', wait 30 seconds and then click 'Connect' first.  HTH.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,295
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎22-06-2012

Re: Gateway Checker Update

I've just rebooted to get a better gateway than pcl-bng03. Got this message afterwards.
Quote
    195.99.126.139 (195.99.126.139) 3.505 ms
    link3-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.196) 6.173 ms
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,926
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Thanks for the report. That one is on the list to be corrected.
David
David
Araf
Grafter
Posts: 29
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎01-02-2015

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Sorry, the tool failed to identify your gateway; this does not mean that anything is wrong with your connection.
Posting the following information as a reply to the Gateway Checker Update topic in the Community Announcements forum will help us to diagnose the problem.
195.99.126.139 (195.99.126.139) 2.691 ms
ae1.pcl-cr01.plus.net (195.166.129.1) 3.899 ms
ae2.pcl-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.7) 2.193 ms
link3-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.164) 3.988 ms
Finguz
Grafter
Posts: 397
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎21-02-2013

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Same thing here.
194.72.31.144 (194.72.31.144) 7.922 ms
peer6-te0-0-0-20.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net (109.159.254.3Cool 4.405 ms
195.99.126.183 (195.99.126.183) 3.981 ms
link3-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net (84.93.249.196) 6.274 ms
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,926
Thanks: 1,265
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Thanks for the reports. Both those are on the list for correction.
David
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 489
Thanks: 39
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎26-09-2015

Re: Gateway Checker Update

Does anyone know if there's a timescale to fix the underlying issue?  I don't mean the gateway checker, I mean the gateways themselves.  It seems bizarre that there should even be a need for a tool to check which gateway you're using.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Gateway Checker Update

The tool is/was useful when narrowing down problems if/when there were network issues. I can't understand why you think that bizarre. It's not the Gateways that are at fault here, it's the rDNS entries. It's clearly a low priority as Plusnet as so busy with ongoing network changes (and no doubt some of the problems that those changes create) that it'll not get dealt with until some point in the future.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Gateway Checker Update

It is very unusual to even see your gateway identified on the traceroute (very few ISPs do this) and it wouldn't surprise me if they remove them at some point in the future.