cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Packet Errors

Fat_Leonard
Grafter

Re: Packet Errors

Thanks for the support. I have some troubleshooting experience as, while I haven't formal training, one of my hobbies is the repair of old electronics and making valve amplifiers. I can probably be relied on to fix and align a 1950s domestic radio in accordance with the service manual, but my experience of creative RF engineering and telecomms practice is minimal!

I was under the impression we were looking for a reduction in SNRM as I believed the line was expected to have ~6dB.

The house setup is peculiar as quite serious self-build renovations and rebuilding started shortly before Covid caused significant delays. The master socket was temporarily placed loose at the end of ~20ft of normal 4-pair by our local engineer, as the original wiring (the broken pair fault he was called out to fix) was considered too onerous to repair in-situ when it was going to come out anyway, and the master socket and incoming electricity supply relocated somewhere more convenient.

That temporary solution has been in place ever since, but has been reliable and undisturbed. The master socket is connected to the orange/orange-white pair. This pair goes straight back to a junction box under the consumer unit where all the house wiring appears through the floor.

The router lost the connection because I was unplugging all the cabling to reroute the wires. It's possible the spikes are flicking the circuit breakers. The resolution is 30 seconds a point, so I wasn't looking to pinpoint spikes as the line's jittery anyway, and was rather seeking if any changes made a significant change to the average reading.

Since my last post the plot has been roaming between 10 and 11dB, as attached. The router appears to have remained connected, too...

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 156

@Fat_Leonard wrote: