Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP Profile speed drop

FIXED
Nontecky
Grafter

IP Profile speed drop

Hi,

I am not that technical, but I see my IP Profile maximum speed has dropped over the past few months to 38.67 Mbps from 52.55 back in March this year. I phoned Plusnet Support, but they just confirmed that the download speed of 37.12 Mbps was above the minimum  of 36 Mbps specified for Fibre Extra. There was nothing they could see wrong with my connection.

I am using Ethernet to connect to a BT Home Hub 5 and to the master socket nearby. I have tried a router reset.

Is this just something to accept, or can anything more be done to improve this download speed please?

62 REPLIES 62
TheMightyAJ
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 126

Re: IP Profile speed drop

Hi @Nontecky,

I'm sorry to hear this has happened. I've had a look over the line settings and it seems you're on a lower profile than you should be. I've raised a request to get this shifted back up to the right profile for you and made a note of this on your account. Once I've received an update (should be in the next 3-5 working days or so) I'll be back in touch to let you know, but if you any further queries or issues that you'd like to raise in the meantime then please don't hesitate to get back in touch and we'll be happy to help out.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
Nontecky
Grafter

Hi TheMightyAJ,

Thank you for the reply and looking into the issue.

It begs the question why I didn't get that help when I phoned Plusnet? I called twice over the past couple of weeks and was simply told there is nothing to be done as my download speed was above the minimum.

Let's hope you have more knowledge than they did?

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 1,599

Fix

Hi @Nontecky