Did you mean: 

Upload speed

FIXED
Notoriousxx
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Upload speed

Hi,

I have Full Fibre 145 and contract states I should be getting 30mbps upload, but I'm only getting 20. The download speed is fine and at 145mbps.

I have rebooted router and BT box but still the same. Is there anything I can do or configure on the router?

Edit to add:

I have tested on a mobile and tablet and the results are the same. Even right next to the router.
187 REPLIES 187
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 260

Re: Upload speed

@Notoriousxx I'm not certain on Full Fibre, but I do know on ADSL/FTTC the upload speeds are 'best effort', and are not guarantees.

John
Notoriousxx
Rising Star

Yes, I understand. This is my first time I'm on FTTP, and whereas the download is surprisingly correct (at least for now...), it bothers me that the upload is 10 less than what I am paying and what is advertised.

I am wondering if there may be a setting I need to tweak, or perhaps change to a different channel on the router?
jab1
Legend

As I said, the upload is 'best effort' and not a guarantee - there are various factors which can affect it, but I admit I cannot explain them - you need someone with greater knowledge for that.

From my experience, there is nothing on the Hub which will affect this, and no change of channel will increase it.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 411

@Notoriousxx are your tests wired ( ethernet ) or wireless ?

and which speedtester are you using ? the BTwholesale one is notoriously inaccurate

To get an accurate result to determine if a problem exists with the connection, do a wired test using the Ookla tester ( speedtest.net )

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Notoriousxx
Rising Star

They are wireless at moment. I use Speedtest by Ookla.
Anonymous
Not applicable