cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ONT box power cable

Marty3

ONT box power cable

Hi everyone,
I have moved house and last night my broadband was connected. However my BT box (I think it is called the ONT box) doesn't have a power cable.
Please can someone tell me where I can get one or what I should Google to find one? I am not technical and this is all like a foreign language!
For now I've plugged in a power cable from something else and it works but it needs its own cable!

Thank you
Tags (1)
20 REPLIES 20
Baldrick1
Fixes: 420

Re: ONT box power cable

Moderators Note

This topic has been moved from Broadband to Full Fibre

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

bill888
Champion
Fixes: 38

Have you phoned and spoken to Plusnet?  They may be able to arrange for Openreach to come and provide a new power adapter for free as well as check their ONT is functioning correctly?

Otherwise, which ONT model do you have?

eg. The Nokia ONT (Model G-010G-Q), requires  12.0v DC at 0.5 Amps.    Any replacement 12v DC and 0.5A or higher Amps would work as you have discovered.  Polarity is probably centre pin-positive polarity.  (In unlikely event it is reversed, the ONT will be toast....)

I don't know the size of the round barrel plug. It looked like 5.5mm outer diameter but the barrel was also half insulated along its barrel length.  The hole through the centre of the plug might be common size: 2.1 or 2.5mm?

fwiw, most router manufacturers like Asus, Linksys tend to use 2.1mm x 5.5mm barrel plugs for their 12v power adapters.

If the hole in end of plug is too big, what can happen is a 'loose' connection and the ONT may intermittently lose power if the cable is accidentally knocked.  (eg. the power adapters supplied with Plusnet Hub One and Two have a huge 3.0mm diameter hole in end of the barrel plug)

ex-Plusnet (ADSL, FTTC) 2008-2023. now BT (FTTP) 2023-
nitram