Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WiFi Dongle advice

gleneagles
Aspiring Legend
Fixes: 17

WiFi Dongle advice

Looking for a WiFi dongle for Linux.

Using Linux Mint 20 if that’s of any relevance.

Plenty of such devices advertised that claim to work with Linux but feedback from some users of the TP Link AC1900 claim that it only works with older versions of Linux and the Linux drivers supplied on CD or downloaded from the TP website do not work.

So advice please, in particular from anyone who uses Linux Mint or latest versions of Linux who use a recently purchased WiFi dongle within a reasonable price range.

Thankyou.

We are born into history and history is born into us.
12 REPLIES 12
jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248

Re: WiFi Dongle advice

@gleneagles I'm no Linux expert - at all  - just struggling to understand it at the moment, but do you mean an extender?

As I have been advised, for something which is Linux specific, the best place to look is on the various Linux forums -there are often work arounds or geeks that have found solutions, although I struggle to understand Linuxese at times.Smiley

John
Baldrick1
Fixes: 415

@gleneagles 

Why not get a MiFi unit? I have a Huawei E5575 but there are many alternatives. Being a mobile network wireless/USB router they will work over wireless if there are any USB issues.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

gleneagles
Aspiring Legend

@Baldrick1 

You have lost me on that one, the Huawei E5575 sounds like some mobile device....I just want a simple dongle that goes into a USB port on a desktop computer, sorry if I omitted to include that point in my post.

@jab1 

Yes that the best idea to have a look through the various mint Linux forums, 

Thanks for the replies.

jab1
Legend
Fixes: 248