Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Three... no longer giving out public IP addresses

7up
Community Veteran
Fixes: 17

Three... no longer giving out public IP addresses

And no.. I don't mean static, I mean public.. why does everyone keep getting those confused today?

Anyway... as the title says.. three are no longer using public IP addresses. The rotten swines have for some reason called it a day on that - which was a rather useful feature. I can only presume that they decided it's too expensive or the government got difficult about it being misused by the lergy called terrorism.

Anyway... this leaves me in a bind because I can't use a dongle at a remote location and keep in touch with that devices / network to monitor or view cameras etc.

Any ideas? I've never used a VPN before but i'm wondering if i can somehow create a vpn thing to my network which will then allow me to access it as if its part of my network?

Anyone else using a mobile network for a remote device? - How do you connect and stay in touch?

Thanks for the input...

7up

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
33 REPLIES 33
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Three... no longer giving out public IP addresses

Can you clarify what you said.

Is the dongle connected to a remote network which includes cameras ?

or

Are the cameras on a broadband connection somewhere, and you are remotely monitoring elsewhere with a PC using a dongle ?

7up
Community Veteran

@7up wrote:

Anyway... this leaves me in a bind because I can't use a dongle at a remote location and keep in touch with that devices / network to monitor or view cameras etc.

@Anonymous wrote:

Can you clarify what you said.

Is the dongle connected to a remote network which includes cameras ?

Sorry.. thought i'd made it clear but reading it again it does look a tad ambiguous!