cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub One; A few thoughts on Router security [12 December 2017].

Convin_Illusion
Dabbler

I do not claim originality or expertise in this field, I am not a security expert by any definition.
I am however a security and privacy evangelist, I believe that security and privacy are important and do not get the attention and respect they deserve. I especially believe that big companies should provide much higher standards of basic security and privacy by default than they currently do and are currently required to do by regulation.
We are rapidly approaching the point at which there will be some disaster [or string thereof] caused by insecure internet devices that will cause kneejerk regulation that tightens security regulations. Such regulation will almost inevitably be bad, as kneejerk regulation always is.
It would be far better to improve security and privacy and protect ourselves now when we can think calmly and clearly BEFORE the disaster/s strike, and the lawsuits come. I would say that hoping that the disaster botnet that finally causes change be on someone else’s network is not a gamble worth taking.

To that end, here is a basic feature checklist, with an explanation for why the features are valuable for security and privacy, for a home router that the Plusnet Hub One and its ilk should be expected to live up to.

This is based upon the work of defensive computing expert Michael Horowitz who runs the site routersecurity.org and to who’s work/site I credit for much of what follows.

https://www.routersecurity.org/