cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

FIXED
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

I have a funny BT master socket that has a small socket for VDSL and a normal phone socket for the phone.

So I can't plug anything into the test socket without disabling my internet.

The VDSL socket is so small I didn't even recognise it as a socket

Picture below...

 

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

18 REPLIES 18
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,635
Thanks: 2,648
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

Looks like a standard Mk3 faceplate.

Unless I'm misunderstanding the question...

Surely with any faceplate you'll lose internet temporarily if you have to remove it to access the test socket.

Once accessed, you can then connect a phone, or a microfilter for phone + internet.

Murphy was an optimist
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

I appreciate the temporary disconnection - but this causes a permanent disconnection. I think that there must be an internal filter?

https://community.bt.com/t5/BT-Infinity-Speed-Connection/Mk3-faceplate-problem/td-p/1484884

this indicates that the Mk3 had the same problem 2015...

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Arthur2
Hooked
Posts: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎20-11-2017

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

Fix

I would suggest that the test socket is behind the lower cover with the two screws, but, I ain't seen anything like that before, looks a tad antiquated.

I've just had two new BT sockets and they're totally different. One even has a built in ADSL filter.

If you'd like photos let me know.

VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

It is indeed!

Now knowing that it is a Mk 3 tells me that it is old...

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,595
Thanks: 985
Fixes: 54
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?


@VileReynard wrote:

So I can't plug anything into the test socket without disabling my internet.



 Use one of these so you can connect your internet to the test socket Smiley

adsl_microfilter

 

Arthur2
Hooked
Posts: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎20-11-2017

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

If you catch any BT 'pole' lads out and about, they'll usually do foreigners!

Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?


@VileReynard wrote:

 

I think that there must be an internal filter?

 

There is NO filter in the faceplate DSL socket ! - It should be a straight through connection to the external landline.

 

Only the faceplate telephone outlet is filtered to prevent noise from any phones or extension wiring interfering with the DSL.

Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
ejs
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

It may actually be a MK1 - the MK2 and MK3 have MK2 or MK3 printed on the top right corner.

To get to the test socket, you remove the part with the DSL socket as well as the lower front part with the telephone socket.

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,635
Thanks: 2,648
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?


@ejs wrote:

It may actually be a MK1 - the MK2 and MK3 have MK2 or MK3 printed on the top right corner.

I stand corrected - I blame advancing years. Embarrassed

Murphy was an optimist
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,147
Thanks: 826
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?


@ejs wrote:

It may actually be a MK1 - the MK2 and MK3 have MK2 or MK3 printed on the top right corner.

 


For what it is worth, I concur. 

I have a MK3 and the writing is there, but helped a mate the other day sort out his fibre, which also did not have markings on the socket. Should be an easy update to replace the faceplate with an MK3 or 4 faceplate. But the MK5 is a bit different, not quite worked out how they work, meant to be tool-less! But I still have my krone tool, nowt wrong with them 😉

VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

It's a Mk 1 then - no Mark printed on it.

It's so old that that they didn't use Mark numbers!

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Jaggies
Rising Star
Posts: 1,668
Thanks: 25
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

Don't think it's a Mark 1 - that had a different layout with the PSTN and ADSL sockets side by side. Later ones have the same layout as your photo, with the DSL port at the top.
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

I was shocked, astonished, amazed and extremely pleased to receive an unsolicited phone call from Plusnet, yesterday at about 6pm. Thumbs_UpSmileyThumbs_Up regarding line speed issues on this old socket of mine.

It was just like the Plusnet of old - proper customer service; they have arranged for a BT engineer to come out and look into things.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

ejs
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 5,442
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Does anybody recognise this BT master socket?

@Jaggies

Perhaps you are thinking of the older ADSL faceplates. There are pictures of some the old ones, (no longer available to buy), here: https://www.run-it-direct.co.uk/adsl-vdsl-faceplates

 

@VileReynard

It's not that old, it probably dates from the early days of FTTC.