cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Home Network

FIXED
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Home Network

Looking at my home network it shows devices currently connected to my plusnet router.

The first is my android tablet, the second shows unknown.

Everything other than my tablet is off, how do I find out what this unknown device is ?

10 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 2,951
Thanks: 1,592
Fixes: 65
Registered: 22-02-2016

Re: Home Network

I have a Sky box at home that is connected to the router via wireless and it registers as 'unknown'. Could it be a digital TV box?

Frontend Web Developer | www.plus.net

If you have an idea to improve the community, create a new topic on our Community Feedback board to start a discussion about your idea.

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,376
Thanks: 585
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Home Network

Fix

Does it show the MAC address of the IUnknown device? If so just google the first 6 characters and the phrase "hardware mac address"  to see who manufactured the device and that may help you.

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,597
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 36
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Home Network

Looking up it's MAC address may help identify which device it is.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,597
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 36
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Home Network

Snap!
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,966
Thanks: 1,152
Fixes: 28
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Home Network

@gleneagles - Don't worry about it, that's the Spy VPN to CGHQ. Grin

Community Veteran
Posts: 14,010
Thanks: 538
Fixes: 8
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Home Network

Yeah probably your samsung TV lol

I need a new signature... i'm bored of the old one!
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Home Network

Thanks for the replies, I don't have a sky box.

A mac address is showing so will check it out later.

Smiley

Community Veteran
Posts: 7,979
Thanks: 631
Fixes: 8
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Home Network


Mook wrote:

@gleneagles - Don't worry about it, that's the Spy VPN to CGHQ. Grin


What ?? Do you mean they actually know at GCHQ that I am using a VPN to spy on them ?

Grin

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,866
Thanks: 1,183
Fixes: 49
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Home Network

I have a list of everything in my house that has a MAC address so I can refer to it if an 'unknown' device appears.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 16,787
Thanks: 1,921
Fixes: 132
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Home Network

+1

plus I give them meaningful names

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still