Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fast Image Resizer on Linux Mint 19.1

shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 65

Fast Image Resizer on Linux Mint 19.1

I have been using ADION`s Fast Image Resizer for a few years on my WIndows o.s... and it has been invaluable.

I have been converted to Linux Mint 19.1 and use WINE to run various progs that I used on Windows,.. most of which seem to work as well as they did on Windows...

NOTE.....FastImageResizer is not about resizing the actual picture image...

it is about resizing the FILE size..

. e.g. original file size 6.3MB   after resizing may be only a 120Kb or so...  which makes it quicker to upload, and send via email,or on here...

I am sure that , not long after I converted to Linux,.. I downloaded and installed FastImageResizer, ( in june this year was the changeover).. and it worked... however..

in the past couple of days, it has ceased to work...

I have uninstalled it,... downloaded a new copy, and re-installed it,.... given it the correct "open with Wine program loader" permissions, and it reports that there is no windows program to open. ? ?   ? 

yet it is firmly esconsced on my c:/ drive and even shows up under WINE on the Menu listings of all progs .

Anyone any ideas? why this should happen.. ?

The program is very useful from the point of view, that you only need to "drag and drop" whatever image file  you want to resize on to the desktop icon,  image, and within seconds, it is "done"  and shows up in a "subfolder" in the original location folder, called "Resized"...

Is there a Linux alternative  that can do that?

I used the "software manager " to try and find one,... it came up with "imgp"... so I installed that..  but nothing happens when I clicked on the "Launch"  to get the program started...

39 REPLIES 39
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 385

Re: Fast Image Resizer on Linux Mint 19.1

@shutter is this any good to you https://itsfoss.com/resize-images-with-right-click/