cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Codes on Plusnet Fault ID Form

duchy
Hooked

Codes on Plusnet Fault ID Form

I'm quite new to Plusnet forums so would appreciate any ideas.

I have a no dialing tone query underway. Have checked everything at socket with working phones.

They tested line and went OOPS! Now have form with the following. Does it mean anything very helpful like an acknowledgement there is a Fault?

Fault location: CE
Diagnosis code: T017
Description: FAULT - Dis In Network

External fault reason
---------------------
Reason: FAIL

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): All caps title/text edited as per Forum rules.

10 REPLIES 10
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 41

Re: CODES ON PLUSNET FAULT ID FORM

@duchy Welcome to the forum. 🙂

Not sure about T017, but 'Dis in network' means that there's a lack of continuity in one or both of the wires from the exchange to your property.

CE means that the system estimates that the fault is in 'Customer Equipment' but that is very often incorrect. It's much more likely to be external.

However, to be sure - have you tried for dial tone in the engineering test socket behind the master socket faceplate?

Murphy was an optimist
Zen FTTC 40/10 + Digital Voice   FRITZ!Box 7530
BT technician (Retired)
duchy
Hooked

Hello Hero,

Thanks very much for your reply.It was great that someone has responded so quickly!

No, I haven't looked behind the faceplate. I'll see how things look tomorrow. It just seems weird that the broadband is fine.

Thanks again!

198kHz
Seasoned Hero

@duchy wrote:

It just seems weird that the broadband is fine.

That's not unusual. If you're on FTTC, and the fault is on the exchange side of the cabinet, only telephony is affected, as data is on fibre and voice is on copper between exchange and cabinet.

If you're on ADSL (copper all the way), sometimes you can get reduced speed broadband if only one wire of the pair is disconnected, depending exactly where the break is.