cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't access news.plus.net

mkilpatr
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 03-11-2014

Can't access news.plus.net

Since a few days ago I can no longer connect to news.plus.net using Thunderbird to read newsgroups.
I noticed a thread on this from a few days ago but I don't understan the solution the questioner had. My set-up has not changed at all for a year.
I have a Draytek Vigor 2860 broadband router and a Windows 7 PC, and a plusnet broadband connection.
I have not changed my Thunderbird settings, which are:
server: news.plus.net
port: 119
Connection security: none
"Always reques authentication..." is not checked
I raised a support ticket to plusnet but they replied "we've tested your connection and there is no problem, we suggest you use the community forum".
Well, I didn't say my connection was faulty - everything works fine apart from the error "Login to server news.plus.net failed" that Thunderbird gives when I try to read the news.
What has changed with the plusnet news server and why can't I connect to it?
thanks,
Michael
6 REPLIES
dlloyd
Grafter
Posts: 38
Thanks: 2
Registered: 17-03-2012

Re: Can't access news.plus.net

Hi Michael,
I've responded to your ticket regarding this.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,450
Thanks: 695
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Can't access news.plus.net

I'm guessing that you have been allocated an IP address from a range newly acquired by Plusnet. Had you tried a simple disconnect/connect to see if a change of IP made a difference? You'd need to use something like http://www.whatsmyip.org/ to check that you'd been given one from a different range.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
dlloyd
Grafter
Posts: 38
Thanks: 2
Registered: 17-03-2012

Re: Can't access news.plus.net

Hi Jelv,
That looks to be the issue in this scenario.
mkilpatr
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 03-11-2014

Re: Can't access news.plus.net

Very strange.
Not aware of my router having been switched off such that I might had a new IP address in the last week, but who knows. Anyway, seems to have solved it, thanks.
Michael
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,450
Thanks: 695
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Can't access news.plus.net

@Dan
Not sure why you hadn't posted to that effect on here as we'd know that was likely if anyone else reported the same issue and could advise them accordingly.
Has the tea boy been made aware so he can contact Giganews?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Can't access news.plus.net

Hi jelv,
It's in hand and being looked at: http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,133596.msg1167871.html#msg1167871
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff