cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nobody can help

MikeyM
Grafter

Nobody can help

Felt I should post here to tell all those interested the position I find myself in.
I went live on plus net a few months back, I was with Sky before that.
With Sky I got 4MB connection and never had any problems.
Since I went live with plus net my connection has never been very fast in comparison.
The problem I have is that my target SNR on the DLM system is 15db, which knocked my sync speed from the 4200 it was to around 2400 now. So I go from a 3.5MB IP profile down to a 2MB, if I am lucky.
I raised a fault and went through all the processes required. I have a BT openreach master socket with the adsl faceplate on it, so I am as good as I can be in regard to my connection at home.
On leaving Routerstats on for a few days I can see that I get some sharp SNR spikes at certain times of the day. This is what would have made the connection drop when the target SNR was at a lower level, hence the DLM forced up the target to try and allow for these spikes without causing loss of sync.  This happened until the target was eventually set at 15db, this level appears to let the SNR spike, by maybe about 7 or 8 db, wothout losing sync, so now it the eyes of BT the line is now stable, even though the DLM has forced up the target SNR just for the occasion, maybe once or twice a day, that I get these SNR spikes.
An openreach engineer came out yesterday and it is fair to say that he had very limited knowledge on how the system works. Now I have no complaints about the engineer as he told me he was given a half day course by BT on broadband, and it ended up being only a couple of hours. I spent most of the time explaining to him how the DLM etc works, he thanked me for my help. He could do nothing for me as my connection syncs ok and that is all they have to get working, the speed you get is just the speed you get in the eyes of BT so if it syncs its good.