cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leaving PlusNet

sdfranks
Grafter

Leaving PlusNet

I've been a PlusNet customer since long before they were bought by BT: so more than 14 years. I have finally got tired of waiting for IPv6 support, and I'm off to Zen. I respect PlusNet enough to at least explain why.

It's a shame: I've never had a single problem with PlusNet. I've recommended dozens of other people (including businesses, I work as an IT consultant); despite not getting the 50p reward because it was too much effort.

But I'm fed up with running a HE tunnel, and the way PlusNet have dragged their feet on IPv6 makes me worry about their technical and management competence.

So I wish you all well, but I wont be recommending PlusNet in future.

22 REPLIES 22
Mook
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 9

Re: Leaving PlusNet

Isn't that a bit harsh @sdfranks?

Why not continue to recommend Plusnet to those that do not require IPv6? After all they have, by your own admission, provided you with a flawless service for the past 14 years, so to stop recommending them on the basis that they cannot meet your requirement for IPv6 is, to be honest, a bit petty.

sdfranks
Grafter

I don't think it is harsh, no.

PlusNet have been promising IPv6 for years: always "soon". Multiple dates have come and gone with no rollout, but more importantly, no reason for the delay.

I am leaving because I need IPv6. But the reason I feel can no longer recommend PlusNet is because they have kept promising then failing to deliver. I can forgive a project slipping to some extent, but I think the first trial was somewhere around 2011: that's a lot of slippage.