cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

wykehamhouse
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎01-02-2013

Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

For a while the message 'Sorry - My Broadband Speed is currently experiencing technical difficulty and may display misleading test results. Thanks for bearing with us while we fix things.' disappeared, but now it's back. It seems to work fine (it gives accurate results) so what's with the message?
25 REPLIES 25
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-05-2011

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

I was wondering that to, It's been like it for months!
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

Shhh ! don't tell everyone !  Wink
That site has been giving me the MOST accurate speed test results for months now !  Smiley
Roll_eyes
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
wykehamhouse
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎01-02-2013

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

Any response Plusnet?
Kelly
Hero
Posts: 5,496
Thanks: 375
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

Still broken.  The network the box is on isn't scaled for multiple Fibre speed tests.
Kelly Dorset
Ex-Broadband Service Manager
artmo
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 19,524
Thanks: 488
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

It's working fine for me.
picbits
Rising Star
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

It sometimes gives me the correct results, other times it is wildly out.
Date Download Speed Upload Speed
Today 17:11 39759 kbps (4.97MB/s) 16957 kbps (2.12MB/s) Share
Today 15:57 24704 kbps (3.09MB/s) 15558 kbps (1.94MB/s) Share
wykehamhouse
Grafter
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎01-02-2013

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

Plusnet, if you think it's broken, surely it would make sense to just take the site down altogether? Then when it comes back we can know for sure that it is fixed.
artmo
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 19,524
Thanks: 488
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

Seems to be working fine Smiley
Jaggies
Rising Star
Posts: 1,668
Thanks: 25
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

It doesn't seem to be logging results.
Mattz0r
Rising Star
Posts: 620
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-07-2010

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

Well, in the space of an hour, it's gone from giving full speed results, to ... not so great results lol - Upload is consistently great though.
Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,319
Thanks: 1,638
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

Mine gives a very close match to www.speedtest.net.
Windows 10 Firefox 107.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

I also get near identical results to http://speedtest.net
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
Mattz0r
Rising Star
Posts: 620
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-07-2010

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

Quote from: purleigh
I also get near identical results

You're not on Fibre though, so it's less likely to affect you.
Jaggies
Rising Star
Posts: 1,668
Thanks: 25
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Is mybroadbandspeed broken or not?

I've done 4 tests, 3 when I posted earlier, ond one a few minutes ago. All with expected results (not on fibre), but they aren't saving for me.