cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Not really related to what's being discussed here because you're assigned an IP from the range  83.216.0.0/19.
I'll look into it nonetheless, although the information Anotherone has asked you for in the other thread would be helpful?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

ListerofSmeg
Grafter
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎15-03-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

pathping plus.net
Tracing route to plus.net [212.159.8.2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  0  [192.168.1.100]
  1  192.168.1.1
  2  lo0.10.central11.pcl-bng03.plus.net [195.166.130.165]
  3  irb.11.PCL-CR02.plus.net [84.93.249.98]
  4  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.2]
  5  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.4]
  6  te9-4.ptn-gw01.plus.net [195.166.129.33]
  7  gi5-1.peh-cr02.plus.net [84.93.232.61]
  8  po5.peh-cr01.plus.net [84.93.232.16]
  9  vlan2657.peh-elb01.plus.net [84.93.232.44]
10  portal.plus.net [212.159.8.2]
Computing statistics for 250 seconds...
            Source to Here  This Node/Link
Hop  RTT    Lost/Sent = Pct  Lost/Sent = Pct  Address
  0                                            [192.168.1.100]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  1    1ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  192.168.1.1
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  2  32ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  lo0.10.central11.pcl-bng03.plus.ne
t [195.166.130.165]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  3  ---    100/ 100 =100%  100/ 100 =100%  irb.11.PCL-CR02.plus.net [84.93.24
9.98]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  4  36ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129
.2]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  5  36ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  ae2.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129
.4]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  6  33ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  te9-4.ptn-gw01.plus.net [195.166.1
29.33]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  7  43ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  gi5-1.peh-cr02.plus.net [84.93.232
.61]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  8  43ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  po5.peh-cr01.plus.net [84.93.232.1
6]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
  9  44ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  vlan2657.peh-elb01.plus.net [84.93
.232.44]
                                0/ 100 =  0%  |
10  46ms    0/ 100 =  0%    0/ 100 =  0%  portal.plus.net [212.159.8.2]
Trace complete.
My IP starts 83.216
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Thanks.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,970
Thanks: 1,282
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Quote from: ListerofSmeg
I was informed to mention that after i ran http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/ I got: Sorry, records show your IP address is not from the Plusnet brand and as such, we cannot detect your gateway

Thanks to Bob for alerting us to the unrecognised range. The problem should now be fixed. Smiley
David
David
Justin7
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: ‎28-10-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

I have recently been assigned on at least two occasions ip address from the us infonet range.  Have changed it now by disconnecting.
Is this going to be addressed to prevent it happening?
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php?topic=134958.new;topicseen#new
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Quote from: Justin7
Is this going to be addressed to prevent it happening?

Very unlikely in the short term, have a read of the second blockquote from my reply earlier in this thread.
Quote from: Justin7
I have recently been assigned on at least two occasions ip address from the us infonet range.  Have changed it now by disconnecting.

Question is, what problems was that causing you? Provided with enough information, we can probably fix them.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

StuartUK35
Grafter
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎09-09-2011

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

The problems I picked up from this, was when I act as Host in MW3 (Call of Duty)..
As I use a anti-cheat tool, it also shows my own IP & Geo Location...
So when I see "United States" as my geo location, and then not finding players, but when players do join, they are from Canada/Brazil/Chile, etc , we end up with rubbish laggy gaming (I am on Fibre).
Not locked onto a US IP for at least 4 weeks now which is good.... Smiley
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Quote from: StuartUK35
The problems I picked up from this, was when I act as Host in MW3 (Call of Duty)..
As I use a anti-cheat tool, it also shows my own IP & Geo Location...

It this on PC? What anti-cheat utility are you using? Could be a tricky one to sort Undecided

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

mushy
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎16-10-2012

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Just happen to have checked my ip and getting 146.199.6x.4x which is showing as below on http://www.whatismyip.com/
Proxy: No Proxy Detected
City:  El Segundo
State/Region: California
Country:`US
ISP: Infonet Services Corporation
Although I haven't noticed any issues as yet  I thought the locations had been sorted out now.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

It's unlikely the whois location data is going to be sorted any time soon, mainly due to the issues/obstacles I've explained in reply to the second blockquote here. The IP's are going to continue being /registered/ to an address in the States in the medium-term at least. What's important is that the IP /geo-location/ is accurate amongst the geo-location services various websites depend on.
http://www.whatismyip.com/ may simply be returning the address the IP is registered to (it isn't overly clear), in which case the date is accurate. If you use the lookup functionality on the same site though then you get this:

I believe IP2location are one of the last geo-location services we're trying to get sorted.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

matthews
Rising Star
Posts: 141
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-08-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

I've just been told by iPlayer that I'm not in the UK. Haven't had any problems watching iPlayer content previously, and I'm on a static IP address which I can confirm hasn't changed since I got it a few months back. Not using a proxy server or anything like that, and http://www.whatismyip.com/ indicates that I am indeed in the UK even if it is 250 miles out with the location
Any chance someone could have a look please?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,713
Thanks: 702
Fixes: 167
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

That's very strange, you're on a static IP that's definitely registered in the UK. You're not running through a VPN or similar are you?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
matthews
Rising Star
Posts: 141
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-08-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

No, directly out to the internet. Don't even have one configured (so can't be using it by mistake). Happy to put it down as a failure on BBC's checking side. I was streaming BBC News yesterday afternoon so whatever's changed has changed recently! Doesn't work on any device on the network (including mobile).
Not too fussed as I'll find something to watch elsewhere, just thought I'd raise it.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,934
Thanks: 1,465
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

Very peculiar. You're assigned an IP in the same range as one of my long-established Plusnet accounts and I've never had problems before Huh
Let us know if the problems continue and I'll check from my own line when I get the opportunity.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

matthews
Rising Star
Posts: 141
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-08-2014

Re: IP addresses not UK - Can customers please report any problems here

It's still happening today. One thing that occurred to me is that I use OpenDNS so I switched back to PlusNet's own but didn't fix anything (cleared caches etc). I've raised a case with BBC support and it's been forwarded to the relevant department but says it could take a few days to investigate (which doesn't really surprise me)