cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub lights

Manny7860
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 192
Thanks: 33
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Hub lights

Be good if it was like this
Red light no connection
Amber light syncing up
Green light internet online
Excellent!
8 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,965
Thanks: 2,822
Fixes: 444
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Hub lights

Sounds like a good idea to me.

Thanks for your feedback.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Manny7860
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 192
Thanks: 33
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-11-2017

Re: Hub lights

@Gandalf that's good maybe you could pass it on to the relevant team. Will it be able to modify on the hub one or most likely in the future?
Hub dim light enabled now. is good feature on the router settings.
Excellent!
runhare
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 526
Thanks: 50
Fixes: 2
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: Hub lights

And how about a router display showing 

  • current download speed in Mbps 
  • Current upload speed in Mbps 
  • averages of the Above

cant see that it would be that hard to do in this day and age  v

if you were able to devise a future router to do this then an awful lot of time would be saved dealing with customers saying their broadband wasn't fast enough , because the evidence of connectivity would be immediately visible to the customer and all efforts could then be directed to finding the actual cause of the problem. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,456
Fixes: 34
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Hub lights

@runhare - Something like this?

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B016WGT7DQ

Mmm, maybe not.

runhare
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 526
Thanks: 50
Fixes: 2
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: Hub lights

@Mook

 

Or this. ? 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Touch-Dual-Core-Processor-UK-P5/dp/B00Y86CMA8/ref=sr_1_53?s=computers&ie=UT...

 

i can't be sure it displays connection speed information and the visual appearance & design is frankly awful,

but the concept is worth developing. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,456
Fixes: 34
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Hub lights

That's one ugly bit of kit @runhare. I wonder if there is a way to do this using SNMP, some code, an LCD screen and a Pi?

Could make an interesting project.

Rather than take this thread further off topic, the answer to the above is Yes, it can be done, and it doesn't need a Pi with LCD to do it either (but would look really neat if finished off with a project box). All that is needed is that your device supports SNMP and of course provides the information you want via the OIDs. You'll then need a way of getting this information and Python is a good a way as any so maybe using this library for example.

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,303
Thanks: 1,736
Fixes: 12
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Hub lights

Nice project for your 'spare' time @Mook  Funny   When can we expect a prototype?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,475
Thanks: 1,456
Fixes: 34
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Hub lights

@MauriceC, this one is on my todo list no question about that, but I wouldn’t hold your breath for a prototype, unless you look good in blue!