cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gateways being shut down?

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Gateways being shut down?

As users are moved to the new network they will stop using the old gateways (except those on fixed IPs). I'd expect that there would be a point where PN would shut some of them down.

I've been keeping an eye on which gateways I connect to and haven't seen pcl-bng04 and ptw-bng02 for quite some time. Have they been closed?

Is anyone still on the old network or on the new with a fixed IP on either of those? (http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway to check)

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
12 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Gateways being shut down?

Array
(
    [1] =>  7  195.99.126.139 (195.99.126.139)  3.886 ms
    [2] =>  8  205.core.plus.net (212.159.1.205)  4.122 ms
    [3] =>  9  407.xe-2-2-2.plusnet.ptn-bng01.plus.net (84.93.248.41)  4.069 ms
    [4] => 10  rongtw.plus.com (80.229.)  22.190 ms
)

You are currently connected to gateway ptn-bng01.   and i have a static IP

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,082
Thanks: 1,795
Fixes: 145
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Gateways being shut down?


rongtw wrote:
You are currently connected to gateway ptn-bng01.   and i have a static IP

Exactly the same as me.


 

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)

St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,609
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Gateways being shut down?

You are currently connected to gateway pcl-bng01

Im also on static ip Tongue

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,584
Thanks: 272
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Gateways being shut down?

You are currently connected to gateway ptw-bng01.

Actually on the new network, but now with a static IP.

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Gateways being shut down?

Ste, you are still on New network, just routed to the old 👍

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,617
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: Gateways being shut down?

New network, static IP.

Which gateway

You are currently connected to gateway ptw-bng01.

This is located in Telehouse West.

PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,103
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: Gateways being shut down?

Wasn't there a comment that the "new network/static IP" combination would use the bng gateways? As being on a bng device consistently drops my download by 2Mbps vs an ag gateway, that sort of comment is relevant to me. I'm currently on pcl-ag02 (since 55/10 re-sync on 8 Aug) but don't know which network.

Phil

Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Gateways being shut down?

Must admit since PN started moving people across to New ,, The OLD gateways are a lot better

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Gateways being shut down?

@PeeGee


PeeGee wrote:

Wasn't there a comment that the "new network/static IP" combination would use the bng gateways? 

Yes, but once everyone is moved across they will need fewer bng gateways.

I'm currently on pcl-ag02 (since 55/10 re-sync on 8 Aug) but don't know which network.

You must still be on the old.


 

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,549
Thanks: 1,497
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Gateways being shut down?

For my static connections :

You are currently connected to gateway pcl-bng01.

You are currently connected to gateway ptn-bng02.

@rongtw - I don't know where you got your 'array' from but that looks nothing like an array to me, where did it come from?

Edit:- Static and Second GW

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,651
Thanks: 726
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎21-09-2009

Re: Gateways being shut down?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,549
Thanks: 1,497
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎16-10-2014

Re: Gateways being shut down?

Oh yes I see where it comes from now, thanks for that. Not trying to be awkward but I still can't recognise it as a 'proper' array. No big deal though, I was just asking because I'm nosey.