cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTP.... at last

FIXED
Minivanman
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,016
Thanks: 1,595
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

FTTP.... at last

@HarryB

At last and after a few hiccups I am now up and running on fibre and crikey blimey o'reilly what a difference!

It's been a long haul getting it sorted with BT backwards and forwards but no complaints now with 37mbps download speed which is more than adequate and a big cheese affair after years at less than 5mbps.

Will I miss all that buffering? Not on your nelly.

Thanks for all your help Harry Thumbs Up

I know where I am, I've been lost here before.
11 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,534
Thanks: 1,037
Fixes: 206
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: FTTP.... at last

Fix

Glad to hear that's finally working as expected, thanks for letting me know.

 

Although I'm a little surprised the account isn't capping it at your ADSL speeds, but I'll make sure the account is updated according shortly.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: FTTP.... at last

why should it be capping it at ADSL speeds?
Minivanman
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,016
Thanks: 1,595
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

Re: FTTP.... at last

Why indeed, but I was waiting to see what happens before asking that same question assuming some confusion.

It does seem odd though as my agreement with Plusnet was for unlimited Fibre up to 38Mbps at a cost to me of £14.99 per month.

Well spotted Wink

 

I know where I am, I've been lost here before.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: FTTP.... at last

i'd take 38Mbps at £14.99pm Smiley
maranello
Pro
Posts: 1,083
Thanks: 116
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: FTTP.... at last


@chenks76 wrote:
why should it be capping it at ADSL speeds?

Whilst router may be in sync at 38Mbps, the Plusnet profile could still be set for your Previous ADSL speeds and therefore capped.

@Minivanman have you done a speedtest or are you quoting your sync speed from router stats?

My other car isn't a Ferrari
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: FTTP.... at last

it was the wording of the comment that confused me
"a little surprised the account isn't capping it at your ADSL speeds,"

the post suggested that it SOULD be capping at ADSL speeds but currently isn't

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,534
Thanks: 1,037
Fixes: 206
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: FTTP.... at last

Because at the time that @Minivanman made the post, the account was still on an ADSL package.

 

In the same way that a circuit provisioned on 80/20, but on an account with only the 40/2 package, I'd only expect it to see 40/2 speeds.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-10-2013

Re: FTTP.... at last

you can see why the wording of the original post might cause some confusion.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,534
Thanks: 1,037
Fixes: 206
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: FTTP.... at last

On re-reading it, it wasn't as clear as it should have been.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
Minivanman
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,016
Thanks: 1,595
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

Re: FTTP.... at last

@maranello

Sync speed from a line test using meter.net.

Download showing 36 Mbit/s and upload 2.2 Mbit/s so I'm guessing either upload is being calculated differently (I think I read it somewhere) or, it's just a lot slower - but no big deal for me really. Roll eyes 

 
I know where I am, I've been lost here before.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,534
Thanks: 1,037
Fixes: 206
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: FTTP.... at last

The service is provisioned on up to 40Mbps and up to 2Mbps, so that doesn't sound far off what we'd expect.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team