cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Quote
Estimated line speed:
    1.5Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2010-12-17 16:53:01
Current line speed:
    3.5 Mb
Previous sync for over 35 days 4096kbps (not below 4000kbps since early Sept 2010)
Present sync for 28 hours 4736kbps
37 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,089
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 55
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Jim,
I'm not aware of any other discrepancies with this so I can only urge customers to make us aware if they see this happen.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,089
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 55
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Thansks MisterW but I would need examples such as what Oldjim has already posted,
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Adam,
Mine are in that thread but for information.
In October last year the Wholesale checker said
Quote
Your exchange is ADSL enabled, and our initial test on your line indicates that your line should be able to have an ADSL broadband service that provides a fixed line speed up to 1Mbps. However due to the length of your line the 1Mbps service may require an engineer visit who will, where possible, supply the broadband service.
Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL Max broadband line speed of 3Mbps.
Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL2+ broadband line speed of 3.5Mbps. Our test also indicates that your line could support an estimated ADSL 2+ Annex-M broadband upstream line speed of 500Kbps and downstream line speed of 2.5Mbps.
Your cabinet is planned to have WBC FTTC by 31st December 2010. Our test also indicates that your line currently supports a fibre technology with an estimated WBC FTTC Broadband where consumers have received downstream line speed of 17.8Mbps and upstream line speed of 7.7Mbps.

In December it said
Quote
Your exchange is ADSL enabled, and our initial test on your line indicates that your line should be able to have an ADSL broadband service that provides a fixed line speed up to 2Mbps.
Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL Max broadband line speed of 8Mbps.
Our test also indicates that your line currently supports an estimated ADSL2+ broadband line speed of 15Mbps. Our test also indicates that your line could support an estimated ADSL 2+ Annex-M broadband upstream line speed of 1Mbps and downstream line speed of 9Mbps.
Our test also indicates that your line currently supports a fibre technology with an estimated WBC FTTC Broadband where consumers have received downstream line speed of 28Mbps and upstream line speed of 6.2Mbps.

and now its back to the October figures.
Just for completeness, my line has an attenuation of 28db at 300khz ( as reported by my 2700HGV ) and is in constant synch at 8128k with a SNR of 8-9db.
Edit : and from the PN portal
Quote
Estimated line speed:
    3.5Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2009-03-31 15:29:08
Current line speed:
    8 Mb
linux
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Quote from: _Adam_Walker_
... so I can only urge customers to make us aware if they see this happen.

Here you go:
Quote
Estimated line speed:
    1.0Mb (This may vary between 1Mb and 3.5Mb) - Checked on 2011-01-25 20:56:09
Current line speed:
    5.5 Mb
anniesboy
Grafter
Posts: 385
Thanks: 2
Registered: 06-01-2011

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Heres mine
Estimated line speed:
    2.0Mb (This may vary between 1.24Mb and 3.24Mb) - Checked on 2011-01-05 16:03:33
Current line speed:
    7.15 Mb
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Phone exchange:
   BRAINTREE
Estimated line speed:
   8Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2009-08-09 03:31:10
Current line speed:
   14 Mb
Sam monitor results below
linux
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Is it the conclusion of this thread that the "Estimated line speed" is not accurate?
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,321
Thanks: 230
Fixes: 2
Registered: 04-08-2009

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Certainly looks that way!
Estimated line speed:
7Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2010-07-09 11:31:49
Current line speed:
10 Mb
linux
Grafter
Posts: 146
Registered: 23-08-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Well, that being the case, may I suggest that Plusnet remove the Estimated line speed from the High-speed Broadband link under Connection settings. It will only confuse people.
Wheel_nut
Grafter
Posts: 886
Registered: 03-08-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Here's mine. Note that my Sync Speed is 6560 kbs:
Estimated line speed:
    2.0Mb (This may vary between 1Mb and 3.5Mb) - Checked on 2011-01-10 11:08:53
Current line speed:
    5 Mb
Surely you now have enough evidence Adam  Roll eyes
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Phone exchange:
    BRAINTREE
Estimated line speed:
    8Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2009-08-09 03:31:10
Current line speed:
    15 Mb
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,419
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

Yours is probably the only one there that's ALMOST right Pierre. Since the estimate is quite old, I suspect its for ADSL1 and you're now on ADSL2+.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Estimated line speed - how about getting it correct

I changed to ADSL2 8 Aug 2010