cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error on broadband upload speeds page

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Error on broadband upload speeds page

http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/speed_guide/upload_speeds.shtml
It says ADSL2+: up to 832Kb/s - it can go faster than that.
Also, it is totally misleading in that it doesn't say that by default upload is capped to 448 and you have to ask for it to be uncapped.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
17 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,750
Thanks: 267
Fixes: 78
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

Hi jelv,
I'm raising this issue now, we should have this corrected soon.
Cheers.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
reserved
Grafter
Posts: 617
Registered: ‎08-11-2008

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

I'm on Value and my router shows 443Kb/s.
Does that mean thats the best I will get?
phil4
Grafter
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎13-12-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

For  upload, yes, without some changes.
Changes including requesting upload be uncapped, and changing to ADSL2+ Annex M.  Both require you to request that from PN.
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

Upload speeds can be increased without going to ADSL2/2+ or annex M. Standard ADSL can support higher upstream speeds but the end User have to pay for it and PN does offer this.  Increase Upstream speeds on ADSL2/2+ can be had for free by requesting PN to uncap. Annex M on ADSL2/2+ will give even higher Upstream speeds but at the cost of Downstream speeds and not sure if PN charge extra for Annex M.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,582
Thanks: 1,267
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

Quote from: itsme
Annex M on ADSL2/2+ will give even higher Upstream speeds but at the cost of Downstream speeds and not sure if PN charge extra for Annex M.

On business accounts it costs £10+VAT. We have been looking at creating an official means of requesting this for residential customers too (in a similar way we do for Max Premium via http://trials.plus.net).
Anyway, for the time being, how does this work for people?
[quote author="Proposed changes"]
  • Fixed speed: up to 256Kb/s
  • Max DSL: up to 448Kb/s
  • Max DSL Premium: up to 832Kb/s *
  • ADSL2/ADSL2+ Annex A: up to 1.3Mb/s **
  • ADSL2+ Annex M: up to 2.5Mb/s ***
  • Fibre: up to 2Mb/s

* Max Premium is available to Residential broadband customers for £7.83 per month. See here for further details.
** ADSL2+ circuits are provisioned at 448Kb/s by default. Speeds can be uncapped on request using the Help Assistant.
*** Annex M availability is dependent on line conditions and costs £10 per month exc.VAT. It is available on request using the Help Assistant.
Edit: Modified post to clarify pricing for Annex M.
Edit: Modified to satisfy the pedant Wink

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

Being pedantic speeds up to 1.3Mb/s are also available on ADSL2 as well  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,746
Thanks: 959
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

Looks good to me - that should satisfy the person on the tbb forum who questioned the accuracy of this page.
http://forums.thinkbroadband.com/newsite/t/4001691-re-site-speedtest.html
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,818
Thanks: 315
Registered: ‎13-07-2009

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

My upload Is at 443 and has been since I got It capped again. Just how many have this 443 bug? Makes you wonder.
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,582
Thanks: 1,267
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

Not sure why that might have happened Steve, have you requested it's uncapped again?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,818
Thanks: 315
Registered: ‎13-07-2009

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

No bob I haven't.
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,582
Thanks: 1,267
Fixes: 103
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

It's an odd one. Looks like it happened back around mid March. Matt asked the system to uncap the upload and instead it went and placed a modify order to cap it! Huh
I've placed a manual order to uncap it again. Should complete at some point tomorrow...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,818
Thanks: 315
Registered: ‎13-07-2009

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

Oh OK thanks bob Smiley
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,750
Thanks: 267
Fixes: 78
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

I'm guessing that the uncap went through from your point of view Steve.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Steve
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,818
Thanks: 315
Registered: ‎13-07-2009

Re: Error on broadband upload speeds page

Upload has been uncapped today Adam, I think there's been a misunderstanding, When I moved to ADSL2+ I requested It be uncapped, The second attempt by matt went through no probs, Then I requested It be capped again to 448 which matt done but ever since Its been sat at 443, Anyway leave It as Is and I will see how things go, I have a new router coming next week which hopefully will give me a more stable connection, I am having nothing but bother with routers at the moment, Cheers.
If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.