cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Customer service

Joker161
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 02-08-2017

Customer service

I hear PlusNet has won awards for its 'customer service'. Odd then that I seem to hold on forever on the 0800 number (I tried at 7.30 this morning) and the 'online chat' service doesn't seem to work - it just says 'connecting' forever. One tip for getting through - press the 'I'm leaving' option then it's much quicker. If anyone from PlusNet is reading this my landline still isn't working. We very rarely use it so I'm not sure why we have to pay for it. I'll be ringing the 'leave' phone option soon so hopefully I'll get to talk to you...

 

 

13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Customer service

you have broadband/internet, yes? how else do you think it gets into your house without a landline?
Joker161
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 02-08-2017

Re: Customer service

I see there are 'broadband only' deals. I assume the line can be used for that purpose only and the phone line is cut. That seems to be the case for me at the moment, so I need to get that part of my bill cut...

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Customer service

I also have a Phone line Azn  which i rarely use , mobile is cheaper

I would have thought 99.9 % of people understand you have to have a phone line for BB as well Crazy2

unless your a Virgin and have BB only

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Joker161
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 02-08-2017

Re: Customer service

PlusNet have broadband only deals. Am I missing something?

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Customer service

yes

2017-08-02_092833.jpg

alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: 17-10-2007

Re: Customer service


Joker161 wrote:

I see there are 'broadband only' deals. 


Plusnet offers broadband only, with a surcharge, but if taking that option you need to pay another service provider for the telephone line.

 

Joker161
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 02-08-2017

Re: Customer service

I see! Thank you.

 

I'm thinking there's no point wasting time getting the landline fixed if I never use it and I have to pay for it anyway. The benefit of having it working could well be outweighed by the time/effort of getting it fixed.

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Customer service


Joker161 wrote:

I see there are 'broadband only' deals. I assume the line can be used for that purpose only and the phone line is cut. That seems to be the case for me at the moment, so I need to get that part of my bill cut...


wrong.
the "broadband only" package is where you have line rental with someone other than plusnet.

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Customer service


Joker161 wrote:

I'm thinking there's no point wasting time getting the landline fixed if I never use it and I have to pay for it anyway. The benefit of having it working could well be outweighed by the time/effort of getting it fixed.


your landline needs to be working properly for broadband to work properly.

Joker161
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 02-08-2017

Re: Customer service

My broadband seems fine at the moment, although I've switch to fibre and I'm only on 20 meg. By the way, the phone line stopped working when I ordered fibre. Hmm...

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 12,605
Thanks: 3,878
Fixes: 25
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Customer service

Which fibre product are you on FTTC or FTTP?

A properly working phone line is essential for FTTC - sound like there is a fault somewhere.  Have you got a dial tone?  Is the line quiet (not noisy)? If you phone your number (from a mobile) does it ring out?  If the answer to any of these is "No" you should raise a phone fault report - use the link below.

If you have FTTP fibre, then indeed you can dispense with the phone line, though you will lose the discount on the broadband given for also having the phone service with Plusnet.

Joker161
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 02-08-2017

Re: Customer service

Thanks! Very useful.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,440
Thanks: 2,825
Fixes: 226
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Customer service

Moderator's note:

I removed a few posts that added nothing to help the OP.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still